AJ’s Success and the Climate Change Blues

I have the middle of the week blahs. The weather isn’t helping. Cold, wet, terribly un-June like, and it’s not just happening here. I’ve gotten reports from people everywhere that this month hasn’t been up to snuff.

I’m sitting on the couch wearing a fleece-lined jacket. This is unheard of during any “normal” year.

I admit I like sleeping under the weight of a couple of blankets, and having AJ to curl up to is one of the finer things in life, but when the sun is up, I want HEAT and there hasn’t been much yet this year.

I’d hate to go into next winter not having enjoyed summer!

In other news… AJ’s new book,Β Safeword, is doing very well on Amazon, scoring high on the various lists both here and in the UK. I am not surprised. It’s a wonderful story, well told, and fans of the first book,Β Power Exchange, will love this sequel.

This raises an interesting question. Am I jealous of AJ’s success? Short answer: YES. I’ve experienced nothing like it the entire time I’ve been writing for publication.

Long answer: Fuck, no. He worked hard for this and deserves every dollar he makes and all the accolades that come his way. Well, I guess that wasn’t all that long an answer, but I think you know I support AJ completely and the little jabs of jealousy I feel once in a while are natural and human and are gonna happen because we’re both writers. I bet two actors living together experience this, too.

I figure, one day, it will be my turn. In the meantime, I enjoy his success vicariously and wish him huge sales numbers and wonderful reviews. He’s a terrific writer, and he worked long hours to make this story sing. Talent will out, and AJ is loaded with it.

Besides, he’s gonna make so much money off this sucker, he can take me out to dinner at the best restaurants in town. And I plan to make him do it, too. πŸ˜‰

Oh, hey! Got a nice review forΒ A Silence Kept here. They kept using the wrong title, but we know what they meant, right?

I have some pics in the camera I hope to post either Friday or Monday. The weather has been so abysmal, I haven’t been in the mood to take any. I mean… SUN! Where is it? The upper Midwest has been under an everlasting cloud, something similar to the everlasting gobstopper from Willie Wonka, only in a bad way.

The weekend is coming! See you Friday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to AJ’s Success and the Climate Change Blues

  1. AJ Rose says:

    Name the restaurant, and come August and my 1st Safeword payday, you’ve got a date.

  2. ameliabishop says:

    You should remember that, in a small way, AJ’s success is also your success. I am sure you influenced Safeword in a hundred tiny ways you are not even aware of, and many that you are. Not only by being editor to the work, but also as partner to the author. Sure, it would still most likely be awesome without your influence, but you did have a role you shouldn’t forget. And even if you never achieve the same success, remember there are still many who are jealous of YOU.

    And the weather? Move to New England, where we have four distinct seasons (sometimes all in one day!) πŸ™‚

  3. Karen says:

    Ok, I have to confess. I haven’t read either of A.J.’s books, but I have read some of your writings and will continue doing so (both your free stories and purchased novels/novellas). The main reason that I haven’t read A.J.’s is because usually books with BDSM themes in them don’t draw my attention, however, A.J. can definitely attribute some of his sales to you because you did such a good job promoting him stories that I checked them out and yes, I am now anxious to read them and they are on my to buy list for June. Enjoy that dinner, I’m pretty sure you both deserve it.

  4. A.M.B. says:

    Congratulations to AJ and also to you! It’s nice to hear that “A Silence Kept” got a good review–it’s well deserved. As for the weather… well, it sucks. My area had a very cold snap about two weeks ago (low 50s and rainy), then a heat wave (90s), and now we’re having some nice weather.

  5. Helle says:

    I read Power Exhange and I loved it. So I found AJ’s blog and that led me to your blog, which I find very interesting and entertaining (I’m still waiting for you to accidently publish a photo of you and AJ ;-)). And so I startede reading the Precog in Peril series, A Silence Kept and have just bought Phoenix Rising.. OK, I admit I’m reading Safeword right now, but your work is very good as well :-). I’m not very good at reviews, I like or I don’t like and that’s it. I like yours.. And AJs.
    And as for the weather.. I took a nap outside this afternoon and woke up soaking wet from the pouring rain.. Gotta love summer……

    • Thanks for the comment! And thanks for reading us. πŸ™‚

      Still raining here. *sigh*

      • Helle says:

        My comment came out a bit neither here nor there.. See why I don’t do reviews? I suck at it. But like for Allison you’re both automatic buys for me as well, and I’m glad I only just discovered you recently, because that means I’ve still got a few books to get through and that’ll give you some time to write some more πŸ™‚
        And (totally out of context..) I absolute love your name! Can I have it? Please?

        • LOL Uh, no. Sorry. I’m keeping my name.

          You have no idea how wonderful it is to hear you’re on someone’s automatic buy list. That makes me grin like the Cheshire Cat. Thank you!

  6. Allison says:

    You are both automatic buys for me and if there was more to buy I would! ;0)

    Of course there are going to be tinges of jealousy, no matter how happy you are for each other when the level of success you’re hoping for doesn’t happen? Well I can’t imagine anyone not having a momentary feeling of “why not me?” especially because you are working in the same field. It will happen though. In the meantime enjoy the free dinners!

  7. diannegray says:

    Congratulations to AJ and congratulations to you on that review, Theo πŸ˜€

  8. My story is the opposite of Helle’s. I found your blog through Martin Brand’s, and once I started reading your blog, I just had to read your novels. Started with the Precog in Peril series, which I absolutely loved, reading them 1, 2, 3, just like that. Then moved on to Phoenix Rising which had me in tears it was such a beautiful story. Only then did I start reading A.J.’s blog, which, of course led me to Power Exchange. Bought Safeword when you announced it was available, and finished it last night. Now I’m trying to be patient waiting for more about Gavin and his Dom. So I guess I’ll be buying and reading more of your work while I wait. Don’t take that the wrong way–I love your writing. What I find so wonderful in both your writing and A.J.’s is that you both create characters who are positive, loving, and make me wish they were my friends. I really want to spend more time with all of them. That said, please tell me that more Precog stories are in the works.

    • I do have another Precog in my head, and in fact, have started writing it. But another story insisted on getting in line before that one, so I’m not sure when it will be available. I just know I’m not finished with Gray and Cooper yet.

      Thanks for commenting, and thanks for reading. It means more than you’ll ever know.

      • French novelist Balzac once found himself in a conversation about current events. His response was “That’s all very good, but let’s get back to reality. To whom shall we marry EugΓ©nie Grandet (title character in one of his novels)?” That’s the way I feel about your writing. Your characters are so real. And damn, even though I’m not a sports buff, just a retired academic, now, having read The Blue Paradise last night, I have to add Devin and Jim to the guys I want to meet. πŸ˜‰

        • I’m not a sports nut either. But I needed something that would make a guy well known to the general public and baseball kind of happened. I played the game a lot when I was a kid, so it seemed like a natural. AJ was my consult for that; he knows a lot more than I do about it.

          It’s funny how alive characters become as we read them (and certainly as I write them!).

          In one of the private FB groups, I posed the question, “Which one of your characters do you want to fuck?” I got all kinds of interesting answers. πŸ™‚

      • Allison says:

        Oh! Another Precog!?! Looking forward to that! Well…I look forward to all your stuff but I love these guys so, yeah, more excited than usual! :0)

        • I’m excited about getting back to that one, but I’m in the middle of something really interesting right now. Well, not actual middle, but you know what I mean. πŸ™‚

    • AJ Rose says:

      *melts all over this comment* Wow…

      This is probably one of the nicest things I’ve ever read. Thank you, Bryan!

      • Just call ’em as I see ’em, A.J., and as with Theo’s Gray and Cooper, I certainly want more of Gavin and Ben and their family. (Not Trent or Loudermilk (?) though. I’ve had enough of them.)

      • AJ Rose says:

        Well, I hate to say it for fear of disappointing you, Bryan, but Safeword was it for Ben and Gavin. I fixed what I broke of them.

        But let me introduce you to these other people, Brad, Duff, Garrett, Jackson, Landon, Eli, Adam, and Moonshine and Jennica. Hopefully you’ll hit it off just as much with them. *wink*

Leave a Reply

