This Holiday Always Sucks

It is tradition in Minnesota that on this particular holiday, you drive north. If you own a cabin (and a surprising number of people I’ve met do), this is the weekend you turn on the water, get the boat in the water, maybe do some fishing. If you don’t own a cabin (and a surprising number of people I’ve met don’t), you pitch the camping supplies in the truck and go to the North Shore.

And nearly every year, without fail–or so I’ve been told–the weather is shitty. People return home cranky, cold, and more often than not, wet.

Take a look at the forecast, which starts with today.

forecast

 

Have you ever seen anything so depressing in your life?

Where the hell is the sun? Where’s the heat? Where is summer?

This photo was not taken this year. This photo was taken the last time we had summer. The place is Mankato, MN, and this is the historic Red River railroad trestle. It’s a two-pic panorama, juiced with Topaz Adjust. Noise removal courtesy of Topaz DeNoise.

Historic Red River Railroad Trestle Mankato MN sm

 

With luck, good weather is still on the way! I’m itching to get out with the camera and take some damn photos. *growl* Summer is too short here anyway, and this year, it’s been delayed over and over.

Yes, it’s making me grumpy. But I am getting a lot of work done. I’ve spent the weekend editing SafewordAJ has been very good about not pestering me every few minutes to ask what I think or when I will be done.

“Patience, grasshopper. It’ll be worth the wait.”

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to This Holiday Always Sucks

  1. A.M.B. says:

    I’m sorry about your shitty weather! Our weather is a bit warmer and sunnier today (not to rub it in), but it was a very cold, damp, and gray weekend. Summer hasn’t arrived yet either.

    • The unusual weather continues, and I suppose there’s no end in sight due to climate change. At least we haven’t been hit with tornadoes, something that’s common up here in spring.

      • A.M.B. says:

        I didn’t realize your area was prone to tornadoes. We’ve had an increase in tornadoes in recent years, even though the Northeast is not known for them. It’s very scary.

        • Tornadoes are common here in May, but as we are running behind schedule, weather-wise, I’m looking to see a few in June. The building I live in has survived everything, having been built in 1886, so I’m not too worried.

  2. Springtime in the Rockies is always a tease, and for that reason my least favorite season. One day will be glorious, the next snow, and the result is at least three months of mud. Good to hear how you’re doing with Safeword. I just finished Power Exchange and can’t wait for more from AJ’s pen.

    • I’m over halfway through the edit and it’s getting really, really interesting. 🙂

      Yeah, Mud Season. Not so obvious in the city, but in Wisconsin, where I often visit? HELL.

  3. diannegray says:

    Why do holidays always bring shitty weather??? I think it’s a conspiracy 😉

    • If I believed in deities, I’d agree. 🙂 Perhaps the weather has generally gotten worse, and we notice it more on weekends and holidays when we want it to be nice.

  4. ameliabishop says:

    I have noticed that, in general, people from Minnesota complain about the weather A LOT. You should move, maybe (just an idea).

Leave a Reply

