The Long Weekend

AJ and I decided to make a long weekend of it because of the release of the new Star Trek film. We’ve been waiting for it for four years, so we took Thursday off and saw it in Lino Lakes that afternoon.

There are lots of advantages to seeing a matinee. People are still at work, kids are still in school, and the tickets are cheap. We paid $5.50 each to sit in an almost empty theater. It was great. We put our feet up on the chair backs in front of us and slouched to our heart’s content because there were no heads in front of us.

It was our first time at this theater, and we liked it. Very nice, very large lobby, and seventeen screens. We’ll probably go there again.Β 

I’m still divided about the movie. I won’t post spoilers here, but some plot twists were expected and some weren’t. A few people in the theater got the references to original Trek, many didn’t. AJ and I, being long-time fans, got them all. We knew what a tribble was and why it was hilarious when Bones said, “Damn it, Jim, I’m a doctor, not a torpedo technician.” There was also a red shirt joke.

We had a lot of fun. The movie is big, splashy, and loaded with special effects, but I wished they would have lingered a bit on the skin-tight wet suits the crew wore near the beginning. ;/

35E South is once again under construction, and we got stuck in a single lane that crawled, stopped, crawled, stopped for half an hour before we finally reached the point where it split into two lanes again.

We decided to keep our day off going by enjoying dinner out. I let AJ pay. After all, he makes more money than I do right now. We had two drinks apiece and returned home buzzed.

Last night, we revisited AJ’s old stomping grounds, the bar where he used to work, and got a little toasted again. I kept my liquor intake down; I was designated driver. AJ’s buddies kept buying him drinks, and he was feeling no pain.

When we got home, we weren’t ready to go to bed yet so we watched the last two episodes of Queer as Folk. In my head, Justin and Brian get back together a couple years down the road and finally marry, because Brian has decided to grow up, treasuring love and loyalty above blow jobs and poppers in the back room at Babylon.

Emmet and the guy he went to high school with (they met at the ski place in the last ep) have a torrid lengthy affair, after which they experience a devastating breakup that leaves the HS friend in a straight jacket at the local asylum. Feeling guilty and depressed, Emmet accepts the invitation of an old friend to recover in Tuscany, where he meets the Love of His Life. They marry and grow grapes that they will turn into one of the most desirable wines in the world.

Ted is destined to have a string of serial affairs, never meeting The One who will love him forever; I never liked Ted much. He should suffer.

Michael and Ben remain married and happy. Melanie and Lindsay love Canada and never return. Debbie and her husband also stay happy and live long lives, because Debbie is one of my favorites from that series.

Sunday, it poured. We were under a flood watch, a tornado watch, a severe weather watch, and sizable hail was reported. Straight-line wind nearly blew my big heavy plant off the stoop. May has been a roller coaster of interesting weather, and there’s still ten days to go!

That night, I took AJ to a fancy Italian restaurant in St Paul. Just because. πŸ™‚ We took advantage of the valet service. We bought a bottle of wine; she poured a bit for me to taste and approve. The food was excellent, the service exemplary. I can afford to do this maybe twice a year. So worth it.

Have a good Monday. Our forecast calls for more rain. *sigh*

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Long Weekend

  1. Loved your take on QAF down the road. I have to say, after reading the Precog in Peril trilogy, that you’ve become one of my favorite authors and I think you should write up the QAF followup. I know I’d read it.

  2. Allison says:

    Glad you got to do fun things just because you wanted to, everyone needs that sometimes!

    We also prefer matinees for all the reasons you listed but out here they are no cheaper than the evening showings. We were very surprised by that when we moved here. Still, just not dealing with the crowds & kids makes it totally worth it. Star Trek is on the coming weekend’s agenda, can’t wait!

    And I agree, love your take on QAF, I haven’t watched it in a while, I need to revisit it. Emmett was always one of my favorites, that would be a wonderful outcome for him!

  3. diannegray says:

    It’s great to have a long weekend and yours sounds pretty cool. I really hope you’re safe with all these awful tornadoes ripping around…

    • All we’ve had so far is a ton of rain, some prolonged thunder and lightning, and a short period of straight-line winds. Today, it rained, the sun came out, it rained again, the sun came out… well, you get the picture. Right now, it’s sunny and very nice outside. I have the door wide open. But it’s supposed to rain until Thursday. We’re under a flood watch.

Leave a Reply

