Spring Finally Arrives and the St Paul Skyline

It was Cinco de Mayo weekend, and there was an ongoing party in the streets. Unexpected blasts of music from the patio of the Mexican restaurant across the street would make me jump. Many someones would turn up the bass in their vehicle, treating the neighborhood to something less welcome. Lots of people strolled the sidewalk, and there was a long parade Saturday morning (when it was still cold as hell). There was even a drunken fight in the parking lot next door, where one participant was so loud, I’m surprised the cops didn’t show up. I leaned on the railing outside and watched. There was scuffling but nothing serious. Hey, they could barely stand up. The only surprising thing was, one of the fighters was female. Man, that woman could scream.

I participated now and again, but mostly, I ran errands and unpacked boxes. Yup, you heard that right. After living with several towering stacks of them these last few weeks, I finally dove in and started making decisions. Keep? Throw? Somehow find storage for something? My boss has been talking about building shelves over the living room radiator for weeks now, but still hasn’t gotten around to it. Two boxes of office shit are still packed and awaiting dispersal.

AJ was no help at all. He sat on the couch and wrote ALL WEEKEND.Β And guess what? He finished! Yesterday afternoon, Safeword was completed and he celebrated by doing absolutely nothing. πŸ™‚ Considering he wrote ten thousand words on Saturday alone, I let him.

I consider our weekend a huge success. AJ finished his massive sequel, I finally cleared the apartment enough that we can walk across the living room without tripping over boxes, and SPRING ARRIVED.

We took Suki for a long walk in the sun late yesterday afternoon. The apartment door was open to the warmth well into the evening, even though the continuing music and noise from the celebration made it hard to talk.

This morning, the sun is out again and temperatures are expected to be in the low seventies. About fucking time! I’m only sorry I have to go to work.

St Paul skyline, taken from a hill above the city in freezing weather at the end of April; my fingers were stiff with cold. Topaz Denoise used, along with the “vibrance” filter to bring out detail. Below the bridge is the Mississippi River.

St Paul Skyline 4.30.13 sm

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Spring Finally Arrives and the St Paul Skyline

  1. AJ Rose says:

    I didn’t do nothing. I watched a couple movies. I started knitting a pair of socks. I frogged that project and switched to a different pair of socks… which I may still frog for yet another pattern. I don’t like the way this yarn pools (where the different colors knit up so all the blues are together and the tans are together, instead of being variegated throughout. So don’t look at me like I have a second head because you aren’t down with the knitting lingo) even if it’s heaven to actually knit.

    I did some damn laundry. There was no “nothing” being done. I’m not capable of doing nothing, I don’t think. But it felt good to not be writing after the marathon I pulled Saturday.

    My money was on screamer girl. All she had to do was scream in someone’s ear and they’d fall over. Shrill, my god.

    • Yeah, okay, I know you were knitting. And it was nice listening to movies as I unpacked. Somewhere in there, I wrote half a page.

      Pathetic, huh? You write 10K words in one day… and I write about two hundred.

      • AJ Rose says:

        You know that’s an anomaly. And look at the mess I was Sunday. Shit, after writing the last scene, I don’t thing I was speaking English anymore.

        See? It’s lingering. *think.

        • I’m slowly working my way back into the habit of writing after this amazingly long layoff. But it’s summer. I love summer. I’m not gonna let it pass without enjoying the hell out of it. If writing suffers some, so be it.

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    Lovely picture of St. Paul. For some reason I haven’t had any visual images of it before.

  3. A.M.B. says:

    I’m glad to hear that Spring finally arrived! We had beautiful weather last weekend, but it’s a bit chillier now because the sun has disappeared.

    Congratulations to AJ on finishing up the sequel!

  4. Allison says:

    I am glad you got to enjoy the beautiful weather, I hope it sticks around this time. Congratulations on making inroads on the boxes, that is always a good feeling.

    Congratulations to AJ as well!

    • I had the door open this morning before going to work. The sun poured in, and the warm air felt good. It’s still nice now. Door’s getting opened again. πŸ™‚

  5. diannegray says:

    It sounds like you had an pretty big weekend (the fight would have been a bit weird – we used to get those in the middle of the night in our street before moving to the country). 😯

    Spring at last!!! What a relief πŸ˜€

    • The fight was weird. The neighborhood has otherwise been quiet and friendly. When I need huge doses of country, I flee to western Wisconsin and spend time at my aunt and uncle’s place. Often, I visit every weekend through summer.

  6. W. Lotus says:

    Oh, that photo is so beautiful!

    • Thanks, Wanda! πŸ™‚ It helped it was a clear, sort of frigid night. And the trees/bushes were not leafed out yet. I wonder if the city keeps the bushes on that hill trimmed to preserve the view? I’m going to check it out in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

