Where Are The Voices?

The first week of the new job is almost done. Learning curve wasn’t too steep, and I’m catching on enough I’m no longer supervised, just told “Ask if you have questions.”

Suki joined me at work today. I brought in a basket and small water bowl, and after she’d greeted everyone and sniffed around, she planted herself in the basket and dozed. She thought, when I left her behind, I was doing fascinating things. Not so, and I believe she was disappointed her life with me at work was pretty much the same as her life with me at home: hanging around doing nothing until I was ready to go somewhere.

I’m writing this Thursday evening, and I guarantee she’ll be hopping around, excited to leave with me again tomorrow. Dogs are wonderful. As long as they’re with you, they are content.

______________

The writing. Ah, the writing…. I have two WIPs at the moment, and because I’ve hit a wall on each of them, I’ve started a third.

This has never happened to me before, and I find it distressing. Previously, I’d be wrapping up the writing on one story while another was already percolating in my head. The moment I finished the WIP, I leaped into the new one. Maybe I took a week or two off, but I was soon embroiled in a new story.

I think the move, winter, and my work interfered greatly in how my brain works as far as writing goes because I haven’t heard any voices in weeks. No one is whispering to me. No one is telling me their story in such a way I can’t wait to tell it.

I’m hoping the new job alleviates some of this. It doesn’t slop over into my real life like the editing job did, and while I still welcome freelance work, I’m currently marked inactive with the publisher.

All writers are schizophrenic, you know. If we’re not hearing voices, we don’t feel well. I’m looking forward to hearing voices again. 🙂

__________

I think (knocks on wood) the snow is over for now. It was sunny today, and when I left work, it almost felt warm. The forecast calls for 70 on Saturday. I’ve been waiting for this for MONTHS! Keep your fingers crossed we get it. I won’t answer for my behavior if it doesn’t happen.

This picture was taken from a friend’s porch. Hummingbirds darted in and out, buzzing the flowers. Soon, they will be here again! I can’t wait.

Porch View

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, publishing, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Where Are The Voices?

  1. Isa says:

    It’s gorgeous today! I have the door open letting in some fresh air. I think we are finally done with the snow. Today’s picture makes me think of the farm I grew up on. Loved the pictures of St Paul and the house. I enjoy driving around the Minneapolis lakes just to see some of the different architecture.

    Get outside this weekend and enjoy the weather. Maybe the sun and fresh air will reboot your brain and the characters will start talking again.

    • Off work until Monday and sitting out on the stoop with the laptop, enjoying the balmy air. FIRST NICE DAY since last year, not kidding. It was really hard being at work today. They didn’t even open windows. *smh*

  2. Karen says:

    Sounds like maybe the voices are all out side enjoying the nice weather so hopefully if you are able to get out there and enjoy it yourself, you’ll suddenly find them whispering in your ear. Good luck.

    • Thanks. Sitting outside now, unwinding with wine, contemplating the story I’m writing. I think this one is gonna take off. 🙂 And then I’ll take another look at the ones I set aside temporarily.

  3. diannegray says:

    I love the fact that Suki likes going to work with you, what a beautiful relationship!

    I always have three WIPs going at once, it helps with the ‘voices’ 😀

  4. Allison says:

    Enjoy the weather, those first days of nice weather are so very sweet! Hope you get to take a walk with Suki to enjoy it!

  5. A.M.B. says:

    I hope the hummingbirds arrive soon! I’m sorry the snow isn’t over for you yet.

Leave a Reply

