Neighborhood Architecture Part 1

On Sunday, the clouds broke for five minutes. Encouraged, I grabbed the camera and Suki and went for a walk. Unfortunately, I only saw the sun for a few minutes before the clouds rolled back in.

I still got a few photos of neighborhood houses, though. There are some beauties. This part of the country is known for overlarge, breathtakingly beautiful buildings, a lot of them made of brick.

This first one is at the edge of a hill that overlooks St Paul. The land on the right swoops down to a street far below. Suki and I get here by trudging up a steep hill. Totally worth it though! I don’t know about you, but I love gawking at interesting houses. This one is beautifully painted and cared for. I only wish the sun had come out again, but there will be other days. (All photos will become larger if you click on them.)

Hilltop House 1 4.22.13 sm

On the next block, is this house.

Hilltop House 2 4.22.13 sm

It sprawls across two city lots. I think it’s gorgeous. Notice the gazebo on the right behind the branches. When those leaf out, I won’t be able to see much of that structure.

This house fascinated me enough I took photos of detail. Here’s the first one.

HIll house 2 detail 1 sm

Look at the beautiful brickwork and the interesting shapes of these windows. I would love to get inside and see how the rooms are laid out.

This second photo is detail from the top of the house.

HIll house 2 detail 2

No one builds with this kind of care these days. They can’t afford it.

There are a lot of other houses in my new neighborhood worth taking pictures of, and in time, I’ll show them to you.

Job update: it’s going well. My new boss is a supporter of marriage equality and when it eventually came out what kind of writing I did, she loved it. I’d say I landed in exactly the right spot. 🙂

Before I leave today, here’s a shot of the St Paul skyline from the top of the hill. There’s a great access point off one of the streets, though when the trees and bushes leaf, this might be more difficult to see.

St Paul Skyline 4.22.13 sm

Smack in the middle is the Wabasha Bridge. I am standing on the hill over the famous Wabasha street caves. This bridge, and several more in the area, cross the Mississippi River, though you can’t see it in this shot because of the angle. To the right of the bridge is Harriet Island, which in summer is a popular place for concerts and parties or all sorts. Right now, there is construction going on, which is annoying as hell. I’ve driven down to the island/river to scope it out. It’s a pretty terrific place to be, and in summer, it will be glorious.

That’s it for today! See you Friday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Neighborhood Architecture Part 1

  1. Allison says:

    Glad to hear the job is going well & the boss sounds like a great person!

    It’s fascinating the way the bricks overlap each other, I don’t know if I’ve ever seen that before. I love old buildings, the feeling of history along with the gorgeous architecture means I can stare for ages! It is one of the best things about living in Philly, you can’t help but trip over all the amazing buildings.

    • Europeans laugh at what Americans call ‘history,’ and rightfully so. If I was living over there, I’d be taking photos of buildings and streets all the damn time!

      But we do the best we can. Heh. This brickwork is amazing. I love it.

  2. A.M.B. says:

    Those are beautiful houses! Is it normal to still have snow on the ground at this time of year? I love looking at interesting houses, too, and I’m glad to hear that your boss is supportive.

    • No! It is by no means usual to have snow on the ground this late in April. Our winter has lingered. Today, it is still cold and huge piles of snow exist on the north side of structures. We are all very tired of it. ;/

      However, things are looking up. Our temp is supposed to rise into the upper 60s by Saturday. About time!

  3. suze294 says:

    Great to see you’ve been able to get back out taking photos – and goodies again. Are brick houses not common in America? (question from your phrasing really). Interesting to see St Paul as its unlikely I’ll ever pass though – predominately yellow buildings, bet they glow in low sun.

    • I didn’t even notice that. The sun was out all day today but I neglected to take the camera out because the wind is still very cold. I’m impatiently waiting for that wind to shift to the south!

  4. diannegray says:

    What beautiful houses! It’s a shame no one puts the work in to make them like this anymore (but I guess it’s an expense people can’t afford these days). I’m so glad you’re loving the new job and have a great boss (that’s half the battle won!) 😀

Leave a Reply

