Non-Spring Continues

Last night, the people who clear the parking lot showed up at 2 a.m. I wondered what the hell was wrong with them that they’re plowing and snowblowing in the middle of the night. I’m sure I’m not the only one they woke up.

First thing this morning, I slid into the boots (which should have been stored already!) and stepped outside with the camera. These are the bushes along the sidewalk. The house sparrows like to hop around in there and chirp. There was no chirping this morning. Bushes 4.19.13 sm   Farther along the sidewalk are these magnificent trees. They had just started to bud when our waves of cold and snow hit. This is, what, the third round? Maybe the fourth; I’ve lost track. Another one is coming after this according to NOAA. April 19 2013 sm   Last but not least, the back corner of my stoop, where I might someday sit under the shade of the fake tree, currently weighed down with the nasty white stuff, and write. Given our weather pattern of late, it’s gonna be a while. Stoop 4.19.13 sm   If you are enjoying spring where you are, well… know that I’m jealous as shit! It’s 31 degrees right now and more precip is expected today. *sigh*

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Non-Spring Continues

  1. Sarah_Madison says:

    Holy crap! I thought I had it bad, but my biggest problem is finding a new lawn guy to cut the 6 inches of grass that grew overnight while I was out of town–my last lawn guy has disappeared off the face of the earth! My sympathies, really. No wonder Suki is bummed about going outside!

    • It isn’t just Suki that doesn’t like going out. ;/

      I just cleaned 5″ of heavy wet snow off the car, and then had to shovel it up so I could get out this morning.

      I hate harping on this, but it’s ALMOST MAY!

  2. Karen says:

    Oh my! You do have my sympathy. We’ve been getting a fair bit of rain, but no snow and mother nature has ever so kindly taunted us with sunshine throughout the day, so I’m taking it. On the highly amusing side my little muttster would love to come and visit Suki…ok I’m sure he’d like Suki he’s very sociable but truth be told he’s totally in it for the snow, lol. We should trade dogs for a couple of days and Suki could get some sunshine and Paxton could happily play in the snow. We’ll keep our fingers & paws (my fingers, Paxton’s paws) crossed for some warmer weather to come your way soon.

  3. Allison says:

    Good luck on Monday! I hope that it goes well & that you don’t have any weather to interfere either!

    • Oh, the weather will suck, but work will be fine. I’ll probably be bored with the job inside a month. There’s only so many times you can gasp at how people have managed to fuck up their lives, and then you get used to it. ;/

  4. Allison says:

    That is a problem I have with my jobs as well…the boredom. But that makes me wonder what you’ll be doing even though I’m guessing you can’t really say. I get to gasp at how spoiled people are more than anything.

    • I’ll be working for a background check company. They run them on potential tenants. That’s how I got the job; in my capacity as property manager, I’ve sent them many people to check.

  5. diannegray says:

    These pictures are amazing, Theo! It’s hot here at the moment and I don’t think I’ll ever see snow in the tropics (I think we’d all be a bit concerned if I ever did!) 😉

    • Be glad you’ll never see snow. ;/ Though a fall of lazy flakes would be pretty if you knew it wasn’t staying around. Our temps continue far below normal, and snow is predicted on and off through the next week.

      Yes. This is VERY unusual.

Leave a Reply

