All the Obsessions

First, news: I interviewed for a job and got it. I start Monday.

I thought about it long and hard, even if it seems this happened all of a sudden. Taking the job meant giving up other things. Some of my editing has been put on hold until the job, which is “seasonal,” runs its course in October. They tell me, once I’m trained, I can work as many hours as I want. I told them I would have to bring the dog in if that was the case. They okayed that. (<–how cool is that?)

These people work in a terrific old house that’s in gorgeous shape. The architectural details are wonderful! And in the middle of the “living room” was a pet pen, and in it were two rabbits.

Yeah, I can get behind that. 🙂 

Despite the crap weather we’ve been experiencing, spring and summer are coming. This job will allow me to enjoy my weekends, something I can’t do when editing full time. Ride the scooter (to work!), read, WRITE. That last one was the clincher.

As y’all know, I haven’t had much time for writing lately. I’m hoping this job will give me that, even if it’s only a couple hours in the evening and on weekends.

Dear freelance authors whom I love: I am not giving up editing for you. Please send me your manuscripts as they are completed. I look forward to working with you on your new titles. 🙂

It seems I’ve been doing a lot of little shifts in my head of late, one of which is not getting nuts when Star Trek news is announced. New trailer? New poster? Don’t care. Yes, I know… sacrilegious!

I was obsessed with the first film, and and more particularly, Quinto/Pine, known as Pinto in the fandom. I wrote some hot fanfic starring them. I kept up on their lives through social media and other fans. But an interesting thing happened as time passed. I was less and less fascinated with what they were doing.

It’s amazing. When an obsession fades, you suddenly realize how dopey you were acting, and you see your crazed behavior through the eyes of your non-fandom friends, who thought you were loony-tunes and wondered whether they should commit you or not. Remember, my obsession with ZQ goes back to Heroes days, so he lasted a long time.

Okay, that’s an exaggeration. I was obsessed, but I wasn’t insane. I managed to live my life and everything. You know, pay bills, spend time with friends, work, engage in hobbies that did not revolve around the fandom.

BUT I’ve been aware for some time that my interest in all things Trek/Quinto/Pine/Et Al was going away. Today, I realized it was GONE.

I’ve had other obsessions. In fact, my typical pattern is to dive into something one hundred percent and wallow in it without shame until something new (oooh! shiny!) comes along. I’ve been through astronomy (when my friends went into it big time, even erecting an observatory in their back yard), science fiction (my first go-round with Trek and all things related, which expanded into the genre in general), photography (once an obsession, now a hobby that sustains me), Photoshop (I couldn’t spend enough time in that program; now it’s simply a tool I happily use), role playing on Twitter (one of the things that got me writing again after a long hiatus), etc. All my obsessions eventually fade, and either vanish completely or take their proper place in my life.

All things considered, the departure of Pinto,  ZQ, and by extension, Trek Take 2, is a healthy development. I am now far more interested in what’s going on in my life than in theirs. What they do has no impact on me at all. What I do matters, because it affects how my life will unfold over the next several years.

To that end, as I said at the start of this blog, I accepted a job today. So I could have more time to write, because I decided writing was important, even if I never sell anything. And my photography is important, because it allows me to notice the beauty in the world around me. Spending time with my friends is important, because they enrich my life (as I hope I enrich theirs). No more working through the weekends; they are mine again.

I feel very good about this.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to All the Obsessions

  1. Erin O'Quinn says:

    Just had to chuckle, Fen, at your on-again, off-again obsessions. I’m the same. Ooooh, Chinese Calligraphy…Gaelic phonology…rose growing (in central Texas 😛 ) … The astronomy is still with me, ever since childhood. Ditto opera and swords and short-stick weapons. But that’s what life’s all about—our short, sweet crushes that serve to teach us something about the world and about ourselves. Hey, much success with your new job. Talk later. 😉 ~Erin

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    Congrats on the job! I love how things keep unfolding in your life – as they should. 🙂 More time for writing? Yippee! As to obsessions, there’s an overlap between obsession and passion. Having spent many years with my passion lost, I wouldn’t wish that on anyone. I for one have greatly appreciated the fruits of your obsessions!

    • You make an interesting distinction: obsession vs passion. I’m the kind of person in whom passion quickly becomes obsession. 🙂

      Right now, I’m in a quiescent stage. I obsess about nothing other than having more time for myself.

      But I also know myself; another obsession will come along soon. 🙂

  3. A.M.B. says:

    Congratulations on your new job! I’m glad to hear that it will allow you to spend more time with your friends, whether in real life, in cyberspace, or on paper. By the way, I’ve never seen the Star Trek film. There’s a time in my life when that would’ve been unthinkable, but I just don’t see that many movies anymore.

  4. diannegray says:

    Congratulations, Theo. This is great news (and I love the fact that you can take Suki with you!) Fantastic 😀

    • I won’t do it the first day. But as I settle in there, yeah, gonna bring her in on a nice day. She behaves well in an office so there shouldn’t be a problem. 🙂

  5. Congrats on your job Theo! Writing and photography are awesome hobbies. I actually need to put up some photos I took of my flowers. One of my hobbies is sticking things in the ground and neglecting them, beyond taking pictures.

  6. Elin Gregory says:

    Congratulations, both on the new job and on the writing time 🙂 I hope you enjoy both very much.

  7. Allison says:

    Congrats on the new job and most especially that you can bring Suki! That is wonderful. Glad that this will give you time to do the things you love most and time to spend with the people you love as well.

Leave a Reply

