Non-spring Depression and Two Paintings

It was a long, not so great weekend. The weather continues to disappoint, staying gray, cold, and wet (either snow, sleet, or rain), and it looks like this pattern is going to continue through the upcoming week.

I saw the sun for ten minutes yesterday. That was the first time in weeks. Haven’t found my lightbox since moving, so I’m fighting depression. I’m talking about when you hate getting up in the morning because it’s dismal. You run out of energy halfway through the day and drag yourself through the rest. You either eat too much or not enough, and nothing sounds good. Going out is too much bother. You want to hide under the covers or stare at the wall until your eyes fall out of your head.

One day of sunlight and temps in the 50s, and I’d bounce right back.

I worked all weekend, except for when I wrote three pages on a WIP. Weirdly enough, it’s not the one I started weeks ago, but one I came up with three months ago. But that was it. Three pages and I died.

I was talking with friends today about how I never have time anymore for things and mentioned a couple paintings I’ve done. 

I did this first one for my mom. It’s her actually, as a kid. I did it in Photoshop CS2, which is before they included painting tools. I used a tablet and standard brushes.

Mom as Kid Large 10.28.08

She has it framed on her living room table. I painted it from an old photo.

The next one, I painted for a friend. That’s his dog, Star. Took me two weeks. I used a photo for this too, but there was no tracing involved. I sketched it and then painted it.

Star on Creek painting sm

I did use special brushes when possible. In the portrait, that includes the patterns in her dress and in the background. The teddy bear, hair, and ribbon was painstakingly painted, and of course, I hand blended the skin.

For the dog painting, I used special grass brushes and the reflection was created by flipping that part of the photo and lowering opacity so the creek showed through. I’m not above getting a little help from Photoshop. 🙂

I’d like to do more painting, this time using CS6’s painting brushes. Maybe some day, huh?

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Non-spring Depression and Two Paintings

  1. diannegray says:

    WOW – what a fantastic talent you are, Theo!

  2. Allison says:

    I agree with Dianne, you’re a triple threat! Hope you find the lightbox soon or better yet that you actually get some sun.

    • Sure didn’t happen today. Again, cloudy gray skies. *sigh* This is really getting tedious, and it’s not just me bitching about it. Everywhere you go, people are grumbling about the cold crappy weather.

      Normally, this time of year, warmer temps and sunshine make people want to get up, get out, smile a lot, have some fun after the long winter. That’s been put on hold indefinitely.

  3. Allison says:

    The midwest is the only place I’ve been that it feels like the sky is pressing down on you, it is not fun to deal with.

  4. W. Lotus says:

    You sure are talented!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

