This Morning’s Near-Disaster

I was up early this morning, fully intending to stay offline while I edited my guts out and got some serious pages under my belt. I woke the laptop and saw updates had happened overnight, so I figured I’d reboot, start fresh.

Windows wouldn’t start.

I stared at the monitor in disbelief. WHAT?

I rebooted and Windows offered to repair whatever was wrong. Considering it was their latest update that caused the problem, I figured it was the least it could do.

The computer spun its wheels for a while, trying to fix whatever the update broke, while I envisioned not being able to get to my work for a day while the laptop went in for repair. Given it’s Friday, maybe it would take several days. Uh, NO! Couldn’t accept that. I have deadlines.

Eventually, Windows asked me if I wanted to try a restore point. Yeah, whatever. Just WORK, damn it.

I waited some more, cursing myself for not copying my latest work into Dropbox. For those of you who don’t know, Dropbox is a free program designed to sync your important documents between computers. It also allows you to set up folders with your friends and share files there. AJ and I share a folder, and I share one with my boss. It works GREAT, and I will never NOT use it again. P.S. If you decide to install, please email me for an invite; I get free space if you do that. Thanks.

After another interminable wait, Windows told me “restore point was unsuccessful,” and my heart sank. The worst had happened. I wouldn’t be able to get to my data until I took it to the repair dude (I have an excellent one, not gonna lie, and he charges a reasonable amount, too).

Suddenly, Windows rebooted and opened normally. I couldn’t believe it! And everything was there.

I instantly moved all my writing and all my editing work to Dropbox, where it synced to the desktop.

Disaster averted, and I only lost a couple hours of work time. Now to do some actual work!

Have a good weekend, everyone.

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This Morning’s Near-Disaster

  1. A.M.B. says:

    I’m glad it was only a couple of hours of time lost, but still! I would’ve been freaking out. We’re so dependent on our computers, aren’t we? I wouldn’t have it any other way, though. I hope you have a good weekend, too! My youngest turns two on Sunday. So, we have fun plans.

    • I was freaking out! I was on Skype to AJ, telling him every step I was taking. But functioning properly at the moment, so I feel much, much better!

      Enjoy the birthday festivities. 🙂

  2. diannegray says:

    I just HATE that! So glad you manged to work your way out of it 😀

Leave a Reply

