Tentacle Love and One Hell of a Rant

I’m not into erotica (writing or reading it), but I love the cover on Antionette M’s latest release. Check it out here. It’s fabulous, don’t you think? If you’re into such things, pick it up for a hot giggle.

David Gaughran takes on author Scott Turow in today’s post on his blog. It’s entertaining reading, even if you’re not a writer. 🙂 Gaughran touches on other things of importance you may have missed.

And take a look at a lawyer’s response to Turow’s public meltdown at The Misfortune of Knowing.  This blogger always has something interesting and intelligent to say about a variety of things; she’s someone worth following. 

As for me, I only have one rant today: IT SNOWED LAST NIGHT. Yup, while the greater part of the country is enjoying spring temps, budding trees, even flowers, here it is still winter. There are no signs of spring other than the occasional and short-lived uptick in temp to somewhere in the 40s.

According to the national weather people, we could experience anywhere from seven to eleven inches of snow over the next two days. How’s that for depressing?

Oh, it’ll melt. Eventually. But snow on the north side of things tends to hang around far longer than one ever imagines it could.

Remember this photo? Like Suki, I’m anxiously looking out the door, waiting for spring to finally arrive.

Suki Longs for Summer

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Tentacle Love and One Hell of a Rant

  1. I was reading the rant, and I just read that book! A Storm Hits Valparsaiso–it was really good. The rant is also good, but you link to interesting articles.

    Thanks for the plug Theo! I had Amber Shah at http://www.bookbeautiful.com do my cover.

    Snow in April is lame. I don’t care if it’s gone in the morning, it’s still lame. A foot in April is awful though. I’ll be posting more pictures of flowers soon.

  2. AJ Rose says:

    Fucking snow. Where’s the sun?!

    (Too pissy to be articulate.)

  3. Allison says:

    It’s been in the 80’s the last 3 days in Philly. **Ducks from the pillows, hopefully not shoes, that are thrown.** It’s ridiculous though because it was 60 on Sat. & will be this Sat. as well. But I am not complaining; no snow is always good. I would like spring to actually happen before summer does though.

    • Our spring has been miserable so far. Everyone is complaining about the perpetual gray and cold wind out of the north. We’re wondering where the jet stream is!

      • Allison says:

        We had wonderful thunderstorms last night, brief but very strong. I love a good thunderstorm. It is in the 60’s again but it is humid. I preferred the almost 90 yesterday because there wasn’t any humidity. I hope the snow is gone soon for you or that at least you get sun.

        • You know how, when you buy avocados at the market and put them in the window to ripen? You need sun for that. It’s been three days and they’re still hard as a rock.

      • Allison says:

        Not that this solves the sun problem but you can also put them in a bag with apples or bananas if you are tired of waiting. Apples work for me every time.

  4. Aww she looks so much bigger in that picture for some reason, she’s a wee darling though!

    Our snow has finally pissed off, but the temp doesn’t seem to want to pick up. I hop it does soon though over here, my semester is nearly up and that surely should be the beginnings of the decent weather?

  5. I want my damn sunshine. Scotland is due some decent weather!

  6. A.M.B. says:

    Thanks for the link and the kind words! Turow’s piece is absolutely ridiculous. Seriously, what decade is he living in with his dislike of technology and red-baiting? As for the weather, I’m also in Philly, and it’s been a bit too hot for my taste these last couple of days. I want my 60-degree weather back! Snow would be worse, though.

    • And the snow hung around all day, but it did not fall all afternoon, as forecasts predicted. However, it looks like it’s still coming 😦 100% heavy snow the next couple days.

      ARGH.

  7. diannegray says:

    We’ve had rain here in the tropics, Theo – but snow? Never! It’d be nice to see it for about 30 seconds and then I’d be out of there 😉

    • Overnight, rain turned into a snow/sleet mixture that is making surfaces treacherous, and a minute ago, I heard thunder. That’s a rare occurrence, hearing thunder when it’s snowing.

  8. Karen says:

    Ok here’s a cheery thought for you, I live in Canada. No snow right now just cold temps, freezing rain and Oh yeah! Happy day the promise of more snow to come soon. The ground is so wet and soggy that my poor little muttster rebels at the idea of going out to do his thing and getting his paws wet & muddy and would rather cross his legs (all four of them). But still if being I honest I freely admit that for so many reasons there is no where else on earth I would rather live. Guess you’ve go to take the good with the bad. Hopefully the sunshine will come to stay soon.

    • Where one lives is certainly important. I love the idea of Canada but the cold, not so much. I really do need heat and blue skies to be at optimum health. I am not a cold-loving human. I hate being shut indoors during storms. I don’t like the way my toes and fingers tingle when it’s below freezing.

      I have embraced this part of my nature. 🙂 Now I just have to make the move south a reality.

      • Karen says:

        I hear you, I am so not a fan of cold never have been, never will be, but the good outweighs the bad so I think I’ll just hang out here north of the border and keep my fingers crossed for summer to get here soon.

  9. Elin Gregory says:

    Suki has such luxuriant trousers!
    The weather her is a little better – ie it’s raining. But we’re used to that in Wales. It’s nice that it doesn’t freeze on impact. I hope your snow melts soon.

    • She’s a cutie. 🙂 Some of it has already melted, leaving an icky mess behind. Right now, not snowing. When the temps drop tonight, it’ll probably start again.

      I keep reminding myself: this too, shall pass.

Leave a Reply

