The Apartment: Mid Move

Pictures, such as they are.

The first three are different angles of the living room. In this first one, I’m standing near the front door looking toward the rear. Kitchen is on the right, closet on the left. Since the photo was taken, shelves have been made and added to this closet, making storage a lot easier. The toy blue bear belongs to Suki. ;/

LR1

The other closet.

apt 1

Standing at the back shooting toward the front door. Internet didn’t get hooked up until Saturday.

apt 4

Part of the bedroom. A very tall corn plant has since been moved into this room. The plants need the light, so sacrifices have to be made.

apt 3

The place is still one hell of a mess. Today, I returned to work, so the rest of the unpacking will take place more slowly, as I have time. AJ’s in the final push of writing Safeword, so he’s not in the mood for unpacking either.

It’ll get there though. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Apartment: Mid Move

  1. Allison says:

    That bear has to be bigger than Suki! Does she play with it?

    Good luck working the unpacking in around the rest of life. I know, once I went back to work after the latest move, everything ground to a halt for awhile. But we do have a bit more than 432 Sq. Ft. to work with, I’m guessing there is only so much ignoring of boxes you can do in that much space.

    I love your plants too! We had to get rid of all of our plants when we moved & this house doesn’t have any good plant windows, I miss my plants.

  2. Allison says:

    Yes, squeaking is required! Although my sweet boy likes to kill the squeakers as quickly as he can, the girl just likes to squeak them until I am on the cusp of insanity.

  3. suze294 says:

    I am Mrs Doom and Despondancy – such a lot still to do! Glad you are moved, you guys did cross my mind on occaison over the weekend. Navigating the boxes will soon get old and they’ll get emptied. Hope you have time to sit back and celebrate being together in one place soon!

    • I’ve heard moving compared to childbirth (something I know nothing about): you forget the pain once it’s over.

      I sure hope that’s true!

      • A.M.B. says:

        Ha ha! I never forgot the pain of labor/childbirth, but I think people regularly forget the miseries of the pregnancy leading up to the childbirth.

        • In time, I know I will forget these initial days in a new place. But right now, it’s daunting. And discouraging. Trying to find places for this crap is… also depressing.

  4. These pictures actually made me smile. I’ve known you guys for ages now and this feels like the first big insight I’ve ever had into your real lives. Thank you for sharing this McFennie.

    Ps, I have a shit tonne of reading to catch up on but by studies are taking up a lot of my time. But I promise I will catch up on your latest stuff an AJ’s when the summerr rolls round and I have three months to catch up! I do hope you don’t think I’m a bad friend because of this.

    ILY ❤ K x

  5. Isa says:

    I was thinking about you two over the weekend and was glad the weather wasn’t bad. Many years ago I moved for a job and never really unpacked. It made it much easier to move in six months when I quit the job. You’ll eventually get it taken care. Just think how easy it will be to clean and that will you give you more time to write and explore the neighborhood.

  6. W. Lotus says:

    The place certainly has character, small though it may be.

    • Oh, it has oodles of character. 🙂 As the boxes are slowly unpacked and things put away, it’s growing on me. Small isn’t necessarily bad. I just have to get used to it.

      • W. Lotus says:

        T and I were talking about that the other day (how small isn’t necessarily bad). She often comments about how much more she wants materially and how other people who make less somehow come up with the money for those things. I commented that their expectations are lower, so they can afford to save the money. For example, someone will immigrate here from the middle east with their 5 adult family members and live in a 1-br apartment until they have saved the money for a beautiful, large house. Meanwhile, we have a 600 sq. ft. 1-br apartment, and T constantly talks about how it is too small. We can stay small and save money for the things we want, or we can go bigger and not have that money for a much longer time. Since we are saving $140 a month on rent, small is fine by me, for the short term!

        • I’ve never lived in very large places, but this is the smallest one yet. I rather like the idea of “a small footprint” on the planet. Use less, waste less.

          I broke myself of the buying habit years ago, and I no longer want everything I see. Instead, I consider choices carefully and decide if I really need such things in my life.

          Downsizing appeals to my sense of order, and to enjoy a sense of space, I have to keep moving things out. I find this process is not unpleasant at all. I love throwing things in the dumpster. Less to think about, less to clean, less to wonder where it is, less to move when I do it again.

Leave a Reply

