First Look: The New Apartment

Before I start posting pics, you need to know they were taken Sunday morning after the carpet was ripped out and before any painting was done. The owner’s wife had already blue-taped for painting and by the time I returned home mid-afternoon, the bedroom and bathroom were finished. Still two rooms and closets to go.

Want to know how small 432 sq feet is? Take a look.

LR from from front window sm

This was taken from the front corner next to the door. Speaking of which, the closet doors were removed for painting; you can see them in the kitchen, straight back. Notice the coved ceiling though. That’s a nice touch. I believe each room has two freaking outlets. Won’t that be fun? And one phone jack, which I hope works. What used to be fine wood floors were ruined when someone glued carpet down on top of them. They didn’t even use a pad. Ugly.

And speaking of ugly, how about a glimpse into the bathroom? It’s incredibly tiny, but at least there’s a tub. Just like Gray in Precog in Peril, I need that tub.

Ugly bathroom sm.

The tile around the tub has been stripped to the lathe. I hear tile is replacing it, not a crappy plastic surround, but we shall see. Time is running out, after all.

Moving on… I have only one pic of the bedroom, and it’s not that great. It does have two windows, which will provide good light. In the near left corner is a narrow closet, currently without door. No coved ceiling here; they didn’t waste the money.

Bedroom taped before paint 3.17.13 sm

Living room pic taken from the back corner, where two closets suck up a lot of wall space. Carpet hasn’t been carried out yet. All windows have deep sills, perfect for plants or asses.

LR back corner facing east sm

Last, but not least, the kitchen. It’s big enough for a table and four chairs. These cabinets are being ripped out and replaced with something much nicer. I hear more counter space is being added, too. I can’t wait.

Ugly kitchen pre new cabinets sm

I’m not sure if the window is that greasy or covered with a film, but I want it removed. Gas stove (yay!) is full size.

Only two weeks to go and so much left to be done.

Uh, AJ… are you still talking to me after seeing these? (He hasn’t been over since the initial viewing.)

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to First Look: The New Apartment

  1. AJ Rose says:

    What. The. Fuck!? They have that much to do and we move in 2 weeks?

    You know, that month cushion I gave myself to vacate the current apartment was hijacked when the tenant in 18 decided to screw with your boss, right? In 2 weeks, I have to be moved.

    (Also, could just be me, but the bedroom pic didn’t load.)

  2. Allison says:

    I am jealous of your gas stove! We are looking into installing a gas line so I can have my stove back because I HATE cooking on electric. But it’s not cheap & that has been holding us back…for more than a year now. Then I’d have to buy a stove on top of it.

    I love the cove ceiling and the deep windows, I had hopes we’d find a home with those kind of details when we moved out here but not so much. Maybe some day.

    I can’t wait to see what it looks like when it’s all done!

  3. cindyls1969 says:

    Sweetheart, you have some work to do, but I do see the potential! Enjoy making it your own.

    • Thanks. ;/ AJ and I were just discussing putting lots and lots of shelves on the walls… (he’s at work, I’m at home and supposed to be working!).

      We’ll make this work.

  4. Nobody says:

    wow .. that apartment in it´s current state .. or even before … is depressing. i hope it´ll get fixed exactly how u want it.

    will we be seeing pics after it´s finished???

    • Yeah. Hopefully I get a chance to take photos before move day. I’m looking forward to seeing it painted, new floors and cabinets, tiled bathroom…

      However, with only ten days to go, we are experiencing a blizzard right now, which means no work will happen today or tomorrow. I’m starting to get very nervous.

  5. Looks like it has great potential!!!!

  6. suze294 says:

    Well, there’ll be no stomping off anywhere if you have a disagreement! Creative storage solutions look to loom large in your future. Decorating/renovations will get there – i’d be more worried about lack of electric sockets! Just think cozy and warm in winter!

    • Radiators always mean cozy and warm. Those suckers throw heat like crazy. In fact, a lot of tenants have their windows cranked, it gets so hot in their apartment.

      Yes, I’m going to be checking clever storage ideas for little to no money.

  7. Elin Gregory says:

    Looks fabulous. Something on the floor, table to write at, about a million bookshelves and you’ll be there 🙂 Home sweet home!

  8. diannegray says:

    It looks cozy and comfortable, Theo. It’ll be great when you can do the ‘after’ shots as a comparison 😀

  9. Kate Aaron says:

    Don’t worry, I know construction, two weeks is plenty 🙂 And it’s got bags of character – although I am weeping a little over what happened to the floor…

    • The wood floors would have been nice, and as there is only basement beneath me, walking around would have disturbed no one. I was told the kitchen was ripped apart yesterday. I’m afraid to look.

      Keep in mind this is being done by people with experience, but they aren’t construction workers, they own the building and are old. In their mid-sixties. They get tired, especially my boss. The painting will get done; it’s almost there now. The floor is next, and that will be a big leap forward. We shall see about the rest.

  10. therealtbaggins says:

    Looks like it has a ton of potential. Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

Leave a Reply

