Time for a Writing Break

I haven’t written anything substantial in a month. It’s amazing how much free time I suddenly have.

I caught up on my property manager duties, have been showing apartments every day, and finished reading a novella. I watched two movies last night and this evening, I’m streaming Cheers.

So why am I not jumping for joy? Isn’t this what I wanted? Free time?

I miss writing. I miss it a LOT, but I’ve decided to take a break. Today, Suki gets her teeth cleaned and my taxes get done. Next week, I have to deal with last-minute packing for the move. And every day, I have to work or the bills don’t get paid.

Then IΒ move, which means I have to unpack everything and find a place for it in an apartment I’m sharing with AJ. I asked my boss today how many square feet it was. He said “432.” I’m starting to realize how small this place is. Also, it lacks wall space; every room has a radiator in it. Radiators! I can’t remember the last time I was in a place that had them. I’m going to have to be ruthless regarding my stuff. And I’m getting nervous about having enough space.

The boss and his energetic wife have ripped out half the carpet and all of the bathroom tile. It looks like shit right now, and the kitchen cabinets haven’t been dealt with yet. They’re getting yanked and replaced, too.

I’ve been sorting out and dumping the garbage, giving things away, and finding homes for items too expensive to pitch. Surprisingly, I don’t mind. I like the idea of streamlining my life. How AJ is dealing with this is another thing altogether. Bad enough he had to find a home for his dog, Princess.

What if we’re making a HUGE MISTAKE moving in together? I mean, right now, he can go to his apartment when we need space. What happens when one small apartment is all we have?

Taking a break makes sense, given the craziness in my life right now. It’s the first time I’ve stopped writing in almost five years. A part of me wonders if I’ll ever start again.

______________

When I was in Florida, I briefly lived in a trailer with a fenced yard. It was a terrific place, even if I did have to haul water in because the local stuff was disgusting. The neighborhood was rather insular and offered a lot of dirt roads to walk. There was a Lowe’s half a mile away, and a busy road with lots of traffic, but inside the neighborhood, you’d never know it. Florida is full of little neighborhoods like this. It’s one of their hidden charms.

I had a porch I loved to spend time on. This photo was taken there. The Mardi Gras beads came from a close friend.

There were snow flurries today, so of course I thought of Florida. πŸ™‚

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Time for a Writing Break

  1. AJ Rose says:

    Two words: storage locker.

    Also, when I need space, I’ll find a coffee shop with wifi. We don’t have to be on top of each other if we don’t want to be. Plus, it’s temporary. Florida, remember?

    • Or a library. I’m sitting in one now while Suki goes under the knife. So to speak. πŸ™‚

      I hated to leave her! She was shaking. She remembers the vet, obviously. ;/

  2. A.M.B. says:

    I hope you’ll start writing again when the time is right. Taking a break can be a good thing.

  3. Allison says:

    Okay, I hope this cheers you up a bit. As I was getting ready this morning I thought with a little thrill, “I wonder what Theo is going to post today!” I realized I look forward to your postings enough that I was thinking about them in advance.

    I’d like to say that you and AJ will do fine but the reality is that I don’t truly know either of you well enough to make that call, regardless of the interactions we have online. I will say that I hope that it all goes very well for you, I think you both deserve all the happiness in the world.

    Finally, I hope that small part of you that wonders if you’ll write again, is wrong. I want to read more from you and I hope that once all the craziness from the move is over and you have settled into things you will have the desire to write again.

    • See previous comment. I have an idea! πŸ™‚ Well, I have many ideas, but this one has captured my attention strongly. I’m busy this morning with various meetings and things, but I”m sure I’ll be turning it over in my mind.

      I’m looking forward to being home again this evening so I can jot down some notes.

      As for me and AJ… if we stay in bed, we’ll be fine. ;/

    • And you look forward to my posts! That is so cool. πŸ™‚

  4. Allison says:

    I did see that about the idea, cool! I hope you find time to work with it.

    LOL, well I hope there is plenty of room for the bed even if everything else is in storage! ;0)

    I hope Suki does okay, it’s so hard to leave them at the vet. We’re at the point that Bella is probably going to need a teeth cleaning too. Hopefully Beau won’t because he takes those things much harder than she does.

    • The bedroom is big enough for a bed. Barely. ;/

      If I need storage space, my boss says I can use the basement, which is huge and locked off from the other tenants. I’m also planning to keep the scooter there once it gets here from Wisconsin.

      But I’m really going to be focused on finding new homes for a lot of my stuff. Even the books can be winnowed out, though that will be most painful. Still, with the Kindle, I find I don’t read the paperbacks much anymore. I’ll most likely only keep those I simply cannot bear to part with.

      If your dogs are small, they need teeth cleaning yearly. My finances are tight; if I didn’t have to do this, I wouldn’t.

  5. diannegray says:

    I read your comments and I hope Suki is okay now 😦 poor darling…

    Then the idea for a story came to you – brilliant! It’s amazing how taking even a small break from writing can inspire something from the blue. This is fabulous, Theo πŸ˜€

    Also, I’m sure the kitchen and the rest of the place will look great when it’s all finished. Get rid of superfluous stuff (I got rid of a lot and it actually felt quite liberating! πŸ˜‰

    • I’m surprised at how easily I am tossing things out of my life. It is, after all, only stuff.

      I know what you mean about feeling liberated. About ten years ago, before moving to Florida, I packed up all the vinyl records and sold them to some guy (who no doubt turned around and got a small fortune for them on eBay). Ever moved a box of records? Heavy as hell! When he walked out with them, I literally felt lighter.

      As much as I love my books, they are the next ‘heavy’ item to go. I will keep the first editions (I have two), books by my favorite writers, and a few series, but the rest can go elsewhere. I’ll donate them to a library or the local laundromat. πŸ™‚

      • diannegray says:

        Books take up a lot of room as well. I love my books, but sometimes you just have to do it…

        • I have four largish bookshelves. There is NO room in the new place for all of them. Choices are going to have to be made, but as AJ pointed out, this is temporary. We plan to relocate to Florida in the next couple of years. Best to start getting rid of things now so that move won’t cost us so much.

  6. Allison says:

    Yeah, wow, 432 square foot, sounds really tiny to me. But as long as the important stuff & AJ is there I’m sure you’ll be okay.

    I have over a thousand books and each time we move I get rid of some but I have a hard time parting with them. I barely buy anything in book format anymore, in fact I have chosen not to read things unless they are in ebook format. Unless I can get them at the library maybe.

    Yes, they are Maltese. We ask every year about getting their teeth cleaned but none of the vets have wanted to do it yearly. It is time though. Not to say I don’t worry about the cost but I worry more about the effect it has on them. I know it’s temporary but it worries me like crazy.

    • My vet puts Suki out for it because she hates anyone messing with her teeth. When I pick her up, she is overjoyed! And then promptly forgets she had a bad time. πŸ™‚

      Maltese are very cute. You should post a pic of them somewhere. I’d like to see them.

  7. Allison says:

    Yes, they put both of them out for it. The last time Beau was still stoned & moaned all the way home. I was half horrified and half laughing because he sounded so miserable. Poor baby.

    I have a bunch of pics of them on my FB page. If you don’t mind taking the time to look of course. They are very cute but then I’m biased!

    • Suki was still stoned when I picked her up. She didn’t moan. Instead, she looked at me with eyes at half-mast, her little pink tongue peeking out, looking cute as hell.

      I had places to go after, so I carried her and she laid on her back in my arms, quiet as anything, tongue still sticking out.

      When we got home, she ate and drank, so she’s recovering nicely. πŸ™‚ They pulled a molar.

  8. Isa says:

    Wow that is a small space. My last apartment was 600 square feet and I thought that was small. If you are a cold person you will love the radiators in the winter. I would always have to crack the windows in my apartment once they were turned on because it got so warm and I would wear shorts alot. Now I pile on the clothes and blankets so I don’t have to turn up the heat.

    It’s good to purge. I gave away a bag of books the other day and I thought that was one less bag I would ever have to move. I have a kindle also and have not bought a book in years.

    Poor Suki but we all have to do things we don’t like sometimes don’t we?

    • Suki’s better this morning, but I have to give her a pain pill. And antibiotics “just in case.”

      I vaguely remember radiators from an early apartment. Once, while naked, I backed up against one and fried my ass!

Leave a Reply

