Ch-ch-changes and a Photo

As I noted over the weekend, A Silence Kept finally became available at Amazon. Thanks to those of you who already bought it! 🙂 I appreciate your support.

And now an update to the move. It’s now scheduled for the 29th (because Easter falls on the 31st this year, and movers don’t move on national holidays). I’ve ceased packing at the moment, but soon I’ll have to start again.

Instead of the big luxurious 1000-sq foot apartment I was getting, I am now moving into a small one-bedroom. Well, AJ and I are, and I’ll admit we had some discussion about this. 

The bad stuff about the palace we gave up: it’s huge, which means a lot more cleaning. And it wasn’t as private as I remembered (I went over there last week to remind myself of the layout). In fact, everyone who goes down the back stairs walks right by that apartment. The privacy part was right: the entry door is behind a firewall. But that also makes it easy for thieves to stand there and try to break in, which I heard they’ve done twice.  Hey, it’s the city. That shit’s gonna happen. (And yes, I have renter’s insurance.)

Now for the good stuff about the place: it’s small (yes, this can be considered good, especially these days), it has its own entry, it’s close to the laundry, it’s next to the garage where I’ll store the scooter Uncle Dan is giving me, and it has a stoop suitable for a small table and two chairs. I see myself out there most of the summer with the laptop. My boss, the new owner, is gonna paint, swap out the ugly carpet for new, replace the kitchen cabinets, and do some other stuff to entice me to stay.

I mentioned to him yesterday, when we were entering data in Quickbooks, that I was moving to Florida soon and he freaked. It wasn’t my intention to scare him, but apparently that was the effect my announcement had. I mean, he always knew I didn’t plan to stay here forever, but the idea of me actually moving didn’t sit well with him.

I figure it’ll be at least a year, maybe two, before I can afford to do it, and that’s if nothing big happens that requires large outlays of money. I guess we’ll see how this all falls out.

In the meantime, AJ and I have to sort through our crap and decide what we can give up. My biggest space killer are the books I’ve been collecting since I was a kid. If I could afford it, I’d replace them with Kindle copies and donate the paper to a library or something. Some hard decisions will have to be made, but I hear, once you manage to shed yourself of ‘stuff,’ you feel much lighter and happier.

I’ve long been an admirer of the tiny houses I sometimes run across online. Check out the slide show to see some terrific small domiciles. You really don’t need a lot of space if you plan well, and I fully intend to plan well.

And now, because I’m thoroughly fed up with winter (it’s snowing!), here’s a reminder that summer is only a couple months away.

Sunflowers

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ch-ch-changes and a Photo

  1. A.M.B. says:

    I’m glad to hear everything worked out with Amazon. I’m a little jealous of your snow. We’ve had so little snow this season, despite consistently cold temperatures.

    • The bigger problem is the layer of ice still at the side of most roads and in parking lots everywhere. Very dangerous, and not the usual here. Wildly fluctuating temperatures create hazards this area isn’t prepared to deal with.

      I drove down a long driveway of sheet ice yesterday, riding the brake the entire way! I was terrified I’d lose control and run into a tree.

  2. AJ Rose says:

    Combine your books with my books, and oh, we may have a problem…

  3. Allison says:

    Another benefit of the smaller space will be that when you do make the move to Florida you will have, hopefully, already purged all the extras! Good luck with the move.

    Love the little houses but I don’t know that I could go as small as some of them are, wow. But I can picture the 5th house (Painted Lady) perfectly in Key West!

    • Ah, Key West. One of my favorite places! I love that you can take dogs into almost every business and bar. However, it’s a bit (ahem) small for me. If I lived there, I’d need a boat so I could get away.

      I once lived in the gulf coast area. I wouldn’t mind being there again.

Leave a Reply

