New Covers for Knight of Wands and The Lightning Struck Tower

Am I over my recent funk? Sort of. I’m still not writing but there is a story I want to tell, so after the move next week, I plan to turn my attention to that when I can. In the meantime, I still have the day job, the last of the packing to do, the move, and then all the unpacking.

I’m not fond of moving, but in this case I had no choice. However, the new apartment promises to be interesting, larger, and I’m looking forward to exploring a new neighborhood. Uncle Dan has also offered to let me take the scooter, as I now have a place to put it (I’ve already arranged with my boss for space in the basement of the new building).

The only question is: do I want to give up country riding for city crazy? I honestly haven’t decided yet!

I finally located two more photos to use as covers for the Precog series. An email I sent to a photographer in NYC went unanswered and I have regretfully decided to let that one go. It was a honey of a photo, too. What a shame I couldn’t use it.

Knight of Wands Cover 200x300The cover for Knight of Wands comes from a photographer in Czechoslovakia. I found him on Deviant Art. Our initial communication didn’t include his real name, so until I get more info, this one isn’t going up quite yet. I want to give him proper credit if at all possible.

It’s beautiful work; the lighting is perfect. I’m hoping to hear back from him in the next day or two so I can upload this.

I ran it through various filters to bring out the color and detail in his body and the pants. It was nearly black and white when I got it.

Tower Cover new 200x300The cover for The Lightning Struck Tower comes from iStock. I saw the photo and loved it.

While it isn’t as crisp as the one above, I considered it a good find. Ever notice how a lot of stock photos have people facing the camera? I noticed this in particular at Dreamstime. I also saw a lot of guys looking down their pants. What’s up with that? *snort* Weren’t they sure there was something in there?

I don’t want to show faces if at all possible. I think the reader prefers to imagine what the characters look like rather than be told by a picture on the cover.

I made a point to locate photos where the model’s face was hidden or obscured.

I’m seriously considering finding my own models and photographing them myself. That way, I can get precisely what I want and know I own the rights. After the move next week, and after I get settled, I’m going to take a good look at my new space. I think I’ll have room for a small studio in the apartment.

I had an unbelievable amount of fun playing today in Photoshop. It’s been a while, and I didn’t realize how much I missed it. Flipping the black/white text on Tower was a real joy. It reminded me just how much I’ve learned about that program in the last decade.

A Silence Kept is being released next week. I’m excited to see this one come out, as it’s a re-release. I added a third more story to it, and I’m pleased with the result. Who doesn’t like a ghost story?

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Covers for Knight of Wands and The Lightning Struck Tower

  1. therealtbaggins says:

    Reblogged this on shadesofgay and commented:
    Stunning new covers from my friend Theo Fenraven for his very well-reviewed trilogy!

  2. diannegray says:

    I think it’s a great idea to take your own pictures for covers. If I could hold a camera straight that’s what I’d be doing. 😉

    • 🙂 Then I probably should. It’ll be a learning experience, for sure. I’m pretty good at landscapes. People, well, I’ll have to figure that out.

      • W. Lotus says:

        If we lived closer, I’d do it in exchange for a copy of whatever book you were using the photo for. 🙂

        Do it! It will be fun! It could end up expensive, though, as you realize you could use this light, that slave flash, and the other reflector. I know a tiny bit about small-scale studio shooting, so feel free to ask me questions, if you want.

Leave a Reply

