Mr P at Mrs Condit Reviews Three of Swords

I haven’t done any book pimping lately, so I’m devoting this entry to the new review up at Mrs. Condit and Friends Read Books.

My thanks to the reviewer, Mr. P, and Mrs. Condit.

MR P’S OPINION: Sigh. You’d think by now I would expect the unexpected from authors. I mean, really, should I be that easy to surprise? The first part of Chapter One deals with the death of Grandpa Graham, a cantankerous old man who Gray didn’t really like and wasn’t really sad that he had died. After the funeral he’s heading back to the house with his parents when he drops his revelation on us, the readers. I have to admit, I didn’t expect it. I don’t know why, I just didn’t. (Yeah, not telling. Read it and see.)

At the reading of his grandfather’s will, Gray is given something that he didn’t expect and certainly doesn’t want, but when his father mentions a change in venue Gray suddenly realizes it might not be so bad. The thing about Gray? He can read the Tarot. And he didn’t see this in the cards.

Gray meets Cooper Key, a friend of his grandfather (and who knew the crotchety old man HAD friends?) Cooper tells Gray that his grandfather left him something else. Turns out to be a letter. A prophetic one at that. Gray and Cooper spend a bit of time together, Cooper obviously is getting under Gray’s skin (in a good way). I love the way that Mr. Fenraven describes the two of them. They feel like they could step off the page. After leaving, Gray goes to a bar and meets Dan, who he finds interesting. On their way out of the bar something happens to Gray that has never happened before and it leaves him shaken. (Again, you need to read it!)

Gray uses the card to do a reading for himself. The future he sees is one of love, but also one of potential danger, though he’s not sure if it’s to him, to the one he loves or to the kitten that is between them (hey, I don’t claim to understand visions, I only report on what I read.

Gray returns to the houseboat and has dinner with Cooper (who apparently cooks a mean burger). Turns out that Cooper has his own gift (and if I’m honest, I’d rather have Cooper’s gift than Gray’s.) In my favorite character slot I chose Cooper. I think this would be a good place to tell you why. Cooper isn’t perfect. He’s got insecurities (about his ‘size’) as well as having something he can’t do very well (yeah, not sharing, like you couldn’t see that coming). I like flawed characters, even minor flaws make them more interesting to me. Cooper has that in spades. He’s great just as he is.

The majority of this story is character building. We learn a lot about Gray and Cooper, but also about some of the people in their lives. What we don’t know (yet) is what some of these people will come to mean to them. I usually like jumping right to the action, but Mr. Fenraven won me over with his descriptive style.

This is the first book I’ve read by Theo Fenraven, though he’s published others. I hope over time to read more of his work. Overall I really enjoyed this book. It’s part of the series “Precog in Peril”, the next one being Knight of Wands. I look forward to reading more about Gray and Cooper. It’s going to be a great journey.

__________

Get it at Amazon, B&N, and All Romance. Just search on the title or Fenraven.

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mr P at Mrs Condit Reviews Three of Swords

  1. cindyls1969 says:

    It’s a wonderful review Theo. I wish I wasn’t so scared to look for some for myself.

    • Reviews? Cindy, you must! Trust me, I’ve had bad reviews. Remember, reviewers are only human and just like we like some books and don’t like others, they will react the same way. The trick is not to take the bad ones seriously while embracing the good ones.

      A positive review will make you feel good for days! So do it. AJ posted a list of review sites on FB in our group. Start at the top and work your way down.

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    I love this review! Not only because I agree with it whole-heartedly but also because I like the teaser style.
    You really do have a gift for creating characters I want to hang out with. And describing places in a way that brings them alive.

Leave a Reply

