Six Sentence Sunday: A Silence Kept

This book is being released on March 1. That is also the day I move. Doesn’t that sound challenging?

If the internet provider doesn’t handle things just right, this story may not be released until March 2. Let’s see what happens, shall we?

These six sentences are from Mikal’s first night in his isolated rental near New Paltz, NY. That is a real place, by the way. I like grounding my fiction in reality and often use real towns, real streets, and real stores. The internet–and especially Google–makes it possible to research almost anything. Google’s wonderful maps let you zoom in and see actual streets; it’s wonderful. I may set a story in Paris one day, just because I can walk the streets almost as if I was there.Β 

___________

I struggled to my feet, locked the doors, turned out lights, made a pit stop in the bathroom, and then crawled between fresh sheets, ready to sleep. The fridge clicked off, and in the sudden silence, another sound presented itself: someone was crying.

I came back to full wakefulness, muscles tensed as my ears strained to hear what seemed to be coming from far away. Yes, someone was crying, weeping so hard it made my heart ache in sympathy.

Who the hell was that?

I bolted upright in bed, eyes wide in the darkness.

__________

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday: A Silence Kept

  1. Lindsaysf says:

    I love this story!! And wept myself.

  2. diannegray says:

    Very intriguing. You certainly know how to hook a reader πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

