More Birthday Photos from Como Conservatory

The conservatory has the fern room, the bonsai room, a new Japanese thing coming soon, a main walking area, and offshoot rooms. The tropical area is separate so they can maintain humidity. I honestly can’t keep them straight, but I believe this is North hall. There is a large body of water in the center and you can see it’s filled with Koi.

North Hall 2.3.13 Koi sm

There are lampposts throughout, and I really want to go back in the evening after dark to take some pictures with them on. I bet it’s wonderful. However, I have to buy a new tripod first; the old one broke. Notice the little placards on various plants. They’re good about telling you what things are and where they normally grow.

North Hall 2.3.13 sm

It’s cool when the lamppost is made part of the exhibit. This photo is very large because of its orientation. If you click on it, you’ll see tons of detail.

Lampost 2.3.13 sm

Below, one of my favorite spots. In fact, it is the favorite of many, and this is where AJ spotted the knitter. Her companion was reading. The guy behind the fountain? He’s a Twin Cities Sketcher. I spoke with him while he drew. He belongs to a group that goes around Mpls and St Paul, sketching things. He’s also a commercial artist. I watched, fascinated, as he filled in detail with colored pencils.

Crest of the Wave 2.3.13

During our visit here, the sketcher’s wife, who does watercolors, observed it was snowing outside, so AJ and I decided to return home.

We had a wonderful afternoon though, and I really do want to get back there soon.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Birthday Photos from Como Conservatory

  1. A.M.B. says:

    It looks like a beautiful place. I love Koi (which I incorporated into my Twitter username: Koiviolet). I could sit by a Koi pond with a good book for hours!

    Have a nice weekend.

  2. diannegray says:

    Absolutely beautiful, Theo 😉

Leave a Reply

