The Move Commences!

News came to me today: the building my boss wants is officially his. The appraisal came back positive. I’ve sent an email to the owner of the building I currently live in, telling him we are leaving at the end of February. He threatened to deduct cleaning from my security deposit because of Suki. What an ass. I informed my boss, who will no doubt pull rank on him.

Packing commences shortly! The move is on. πŸ™‚Β The mover has been hired and boxes have been delivered.

When AJ visits, he looks at the boxes and frowns. It’s pretty much the same state at his place.Β 

Moving sucks!

But he’s giving up exercise rooms, a pool, walking trails, a theater, a pool table, two hot tubs, a dishwasher, an in-unit washer and drier, and a balcony. I’m giving up… nothing. All I ever had was an ordinary, non-luxury apartment. I hope he doesn’t come to regret this.

What does he get in return? Lots of windows (he already had those), a park half a block away, proximity to downtown St Paul, access to lots of cafes and restaurants, cool bars only minutes away, maybe a ghost or two, and ME.

Sounds like a fair exchange, yeah? πŸ™‚

Love makes us all stupid. But what are things compared to THAT?

My boss informed me today the unit I’m getting needs to be painted. His wife volunteered to do that. She’s a demon with the paintbrush. And the ceiling tiles suck, so he’s replacing those, too. Nice guy, my boss. He wants me to be happy. As I want me to be happy, too, I nodded and smiled and thought how cool this was going to be.

Once month to go. Can I get everything packed in time? Can AJ? The answer has to be yes, because we have no choice. On March 1, we must relocate.

_______

It’s winter now, and as I type this, cold as hell. But summer isn’t far away. Here’s a photo to remind you of that.

Floating Down the Red Cedar 8.15.08

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Move Commences!

  1. cindyls1969 says:

    It all sounds so exciting! It seems like your boss is a nice guy and you’re lucky to have him. Of course, he’s lucky to have such a stellar employee, lol. And yes, I’m sure AJ is more than happy with the trade off. Good luck with the packing though…I really hate that part.

    • I don’t like packing either, though it’s often a good excuse to throw crap away. I’m going to make an attempt to winnow down the belongings some. In the next few years, I plan another move, hopefully a more final one. I’m tired of winter and want to move back to Florida again, even though that state has plenty of problems of its own.

  2. AJ Rose says:

    What good’s all that stuff without someone to share it with? Well… I will say no dishwasher is going to SUCK! Make you a deal–I’ll cook for you (like you’ve already suggested) and you do the dishes. As for laundry, going to the basement is still better than schlepping all of it to the car and driving it to a laundromat.

    And you forgot something. MY DOG. God, you’d better put out. A LOT.

  3. Theo: as a vet and a pet owner, I’ve had to fight the pet deposit return every time–and I leave places in better condition than when I rented them! It’s a form of discrimination that I will one day take up my banner and rant about. πŸ™‚ I’m glad the move is underway, do take advantage of the excuse to toss stuff you’re not using. Your boss, and AJ, sound like real troopers! Good luck on the move. πŸ™‚

    • You’re absolutely right. Already, my current landlord (who was gonna be my boss until the deal fell through) is making noise about charging me for the “pet damage.” There is none, of course. He didn’t shampoo the rug before I moved in so he should do it this time. It was smelly back then!

      People discriminate against others, for all kinds of stupid reasons, because they can. 😦

  4. Sienna says:

    Good luck with the move! I’ve moved twice in 10 years, and I hate it every time. I hate the packing and unpacking that comes with it, but moving to a new place is pretty exciting. πŸ™‚

    I wish you plenty of luck with winnowing down your belongings. That’s also what I told myself 5 years ago, the 2nd time we moved after our boxes of things exponentially exploded to the 50’s after 4 years. But stuff seems to grow, whether I want them to or not. LOL Now, I think it would be in the 100’s, if ever we move again.

  5. suze294 says:

    Wow, its all becoming real now!
    I always find the unpacking worse, finding the right places for everything, moving it all again when it doesn’t work!
    And a dishwasher doesn’t keep you warm in bed!

  6. fransiweinstein says:

    The only time I really get rid of lots of stuff is when I move. Good luck with it all.

  7. A.M.B. says:

    Good luck, and thanks for the summer pic. I needed the reminder. I have always been grateful that February is our shortest month.

  8. diannegray says:

    Best of luck with the move. The owner of the building sounds like a complete ass for wanting you to pay for ‘pet damage’ when there is none. Just be glad to get away from him.

    • Oh, I am. There’s been a homeless person around lately, sleeping on the stairs, and while I am sympathetic, he needs to get off his ass and do something instead of drifting around our building doing nothing. He isn’t being helped by the people who sometimes feed and shelter him. He needs to make real connections, get a job, jump-start his life again.

Leave a Reply

