It’s For the Birds

I love photographing birds for several reasons. 1) It’s difficult to get close to them so there’s built-in challenge. 2) They’re pretty little things. 3) Sometimes you see one that shouldn’t be in your neighborhood. I get a little thrill with that last one.

Now that we’re deep in climate change, I suspect birds will be showing up out of their range a lot more often.

Backyard feeders are always interesting. This is a common sparrow, but look at the beautiful color patterns on his back. Even the most ordinary birds are gorgeous.

Chipping Sparrow with Seed sm

I spotted this trio while driving down a gravel farm road in western Wisconsin early one morning. They were playing in a pool of water that would soon vanish; it was the result of rain overflow. This is a male and female shoveler duck. I have no idea what the smaller bird on the left is. He showed up in the photo and I liked him, so I left him there.

Northern Shovelers and Sandpiper sm

This last picture was taken through the back door at my aunt and uncle’s house. It was snowing pretty hard and this male and female cardinal made a great picture. Notice the ‘cardinal’ at the top of the pole? An unexpected whimsical touch.

Cardinals in Snow sm

Male cardinals always seem to be glaring at me. Must be that black marking across their eyes.

See you Friday!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s For the Birds

  1. Kate Aaron says:

    And there was me getting excited when you said you’d been photographing the birds!! *pouts* The unidentified one is a snipe, I believe.

    • Thanks. Snipe. I’ll remember that.

      When summer comes again, I’ll hang out downtown and photograph the pretty girls in their short skirts, just for you!

      • Kate Aaron says:

        I knew there was a reason I liked you πŸ˜€

        I am jealous of some of the N American birds. The Cardinal is sooooo pretty. Although I can’t complain, I have a sparrowhawk, a jay and a family of rooks nesting in my garden, as well as all the run-of-the-mill stuff. Lots of tits, too (say nothing!). They do brighten my day, even if there’s something a bit creepy about stepping outside and seeing a dozen or more rooks lined up along the garage roof, staring at you…

        • Hitchcock’s The Birds altered our view of feathered creatures forever. What a clever man. He took an ordinary occasion like birds grouping and turned it into a horror story.

  2. Sarah_Madison says:

    Theo, I consider myself an amateur photographer with my little point and shoot camera, but there is nothing amateur about your talents here. Amazing pictures–thank you for sharing them!

  3. A.M.B. says:

    Love the bird photos! The cardinal pic is my favorite, and I can’t wait to show it to my twins. They love cardinals and have just learned about sexual dimorphism in birds.

  4. diannegray says:

    These pictures are amazing, Theo. I love the cardinals πŸ˜€

    • I was in WI for dinner. It started snowing. People were milling about and it was cold, so I took shots right through the back door window. I’m amazed at the clarity of the picture. But this proves you can get a good photo under less than perfect conditions. This picture is one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

