Six Sentence Sunday

Ethan finds himself in 1863, on a farm where a brother and sister live. He’s nervous about their customs, their food, even the water they drink.

Ethan is talking to Hes in the kitchen over a bucket of water. He’s thirsty.

__________

“It hasn’t been polluted with something?”

“Polluted?”

“Like, you haven’t washed underwear in it?”

She stared. “You are joking with me.”

“Only a little.”

_________

I’m planning to release this one May 1. Even as I work on this, I already have two more stories swirling around in my head.

To think, I once worried I’d run out of ideas.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday

  1. kanundra says:

    I don’t think you could ever run out of ideas…. Life might get in the way now and again, but it helps fuel the muse. 🙂

    • 🙂 I don’t seem to be, that’s for sure.

      Every time I near the end of one project, several new ideas pop up begging for my attention. I wish I could write three books at once!

  2. Elin Gregory says:

    This sounds like fun. I love time travel stories. So much potential for conflict.

    • They make me nervous because of all the possibilities for screwing it up, but I love time travel stories, too. 🙂

      • Elin Gregory says:

        There’s all the historical stuff to double check and the science too, so I take my hat off to you. 🙂

        • Gawd, yes! 1863 America was far different from today. But I find I really enjoy doing that kind of research. I’ve learned tons for what will essentially be a novella. It seems I’m stopping to research every other sentence! What did writers do before internet? It must have been HORRIBLE.

          • Elin Gregory says:

            It was hard work, but in those days there were fewer experts and they would bitch about your academic credentials privately. Nowadays anyone with an internet connection is an expert and is happy to blacken your name as publicly as possible. Historical authors have to learn to roll with the punches.

          • Never thought of that, but hey, I write entertainment. If a reader can’t let some minor stuff go, they have a problem, not me.

            People who pick holes in your historical? Need to get a life. 🙂

  3. therealtbaggins says:

    Very intriguing.

    And Elin is correct about the peanut gallery jumping on historical fiction. My friend with the Phd. in History once got a review that said, “This author knows nothing about medieval times.” Well … she did receive a doctorate in it…

Leave a Reply

