The Big Move, Part 2

Last March 1, I arrived in St Paul and settled into my new position as property manager for a friend of my uncle’s. A job I’d counted on fell through and I found myself scrambling for income.

Those first few months were nerve-wracking, but I reinvented myself, became a book editor, and survived. There were tough times. Sometimes I wondered if I hadn’t made a big mistake. But it worked out. I’m doing okay. I make a lot less money than I did but in many ways, I’m happier, and isn’t that what matters? Material goods–money–are far less important to me than they used to be.

I’m still a property manager, but things changed radically. The building I live in? That deal fell through, and so my boss started looking for another property.Ā 

He fell in love with a 21-unit building near downtown St Paul. It was built in 1886 and used to be a hotel. Three floors of history, and a basement with blocked-off passages to the Wabasha Caves.

These things never proceed smoothly, but after many unexpected hiccups, it is now almost certain I’ll be relocating to that building. The apartment I want will be vacant March 1, exactly one year after I made St Paul my new home.

It’s on the top floor. Every room, including the bathroom, has windows. Because of its location, I will enjoy an astounding amount of privacy behind a fire door. Two bedrooms, and a kitchen so large you could skate in it. A living room with three large windows that face south.

One thousand square feet.

I’m not lying. That’s how much space I’ll have. I’m excited, nervous, freaked, and very happy. Why? ‘Cause the time is right. AJ’s moving in.

And so begins a new part of my life.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Big Move, Part 2

  1. AJ Rose says:

    Finally ready to handle me, huh?

    Oh, btw, Misty said she’d take Princess. Happy to. So now there’s just the matter of my missing the shit out of him.

  2. aww congrats Fen and AJ! I am so excited for both of you. Lots of HUGS!!!

  3. cindyls1969 says:

    So happy for you. I could use a little excitement like that in my life.

  4. therealtbaggins says:

    This is great news. Enjoy your new home!

  5. suze294 says:

    Well, congrats you guys! I think I remember your pics of the building with the ‘ghostly ‘ shadow. Just think of all the travelling time saved, more time to spend…….writing!!

  6. kanundra says:

    Hope you had some good time away, šŸ™‚ finished the third book. Awesome….

  7. diannegray says:

    Pictures? Congratulations – I love a lot of space šŸ˜‰

  8. Isa says:

    Congrats to the two of you! The new place sounds great. If I lived there I would want to open the doors and check out the caves. I haven’t seen the Wabasha Caves yet but they are on my to do list.

    • My boss wants to do exactly that, but the City might frown on that. Also, if we could enter the caves, people could come to the building too, and that wouldn’t be good for obvious reasons. Much as we want to explore, I’m thinking it won’t happen.

  9. Elin Gregory says:

    Wow, penthouse flat, old building, secret passages to caves! Oh the plot bunnies! But best off all a super new home with AJ. I hope you’ll both have a brilliant time in it.

  10. A.M.B. says:

    Good luck with this new chapter in your life! I’m happy for you.

Leave a Reply

