Six Sentence Sunday: Blue River

I’m currently revamping Blue River, a time travel story I got the rights back to. I’m excited about the changes happening to this one, as it was written to fit a certain length and there is so much more story that can be told. I’m readying this one for a May 1 release.

These six sentences begin the story.

_____

“What if the story is true?” Randy asked, passing me a joint.

I shrugged, pinched the hand-rolled smoke between my fingers, and inhaled through pursed lips, feeling the burn go deep into my lungs. After I blew it out, I said, “Then we enjoy a nice morning walk on a pleasant day in the canyon. Where did Doug say this space/time hole was?”

He laughed. “You don’t remember?”

______

Tomorrow: Writers Writing Badly, Part 2.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday: Blue River

  1. diannegray says:

    OOOOO – very intriguing!

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    I am so glad you are expanding some of your earlier stories. You have the gift of creating people and situations I want more of. Thank you!

    • You’re welcome, and what a nice thing to hear. 🙂 I always felt Blue River was too short. I love being able to take another crack at that one. A Silence Kept is a third longer than the original, and consequently, a much better story.

  3. Elin Gregory says:

    This looks good. 🙂 I love time travel stories.

    • The best part? All the research to get it right. What did they wear then? Was there toothpaste (not yet). What kind of bed did they sleep on? At one point, I was stopping every few sentences to look something up. So much fun!

Leave a Reply

