Today is a Good Day to Die

When you hear that, don’t you picture that old guy with the craggy face and long white hair? Where was that line from anyway, Little Big Man with Dustin Hoffman? Old movie. Haven’t seen it in years.

But yeah, if I died today, I’d be pretty happy. I got my best review so far from Joyfully Jay.

Here’s what Melanie had to say about the Precog in Peril series:

first reviewed Three of Swords back in October 19, 2012 and gave it a 4.25 rating. I loved the story but had a problem with the cliffhanger ending. But now that I have finished all three books, I have to revise the rating upward to 5 stars for the series and the books within. So when I got the 2nd and 3rd books, I went back and started from the beginning and oh what a marvelous and seductive ride the author laid out for us. Each book flows seamlessly into the next, and that is the way I finally read them and appreciated the full extent of this author’s vision.

Gray Vecello and Cooper Key are the foundation stones on which Fenraven tells a story of individuals fighting to understand who they are and then gaining acceptance for the person they are inside. Cooper is still trying to overcome the shame of the life he led after his parents kicked him out for being gay.  Gray is still trying to figure out who he is even as we watch him mature and deal with the gifts he was given. Character after beautifully realized character rolls across the pages…and then we meet Wade, a young paranormal whose heart-wrenching backstory had me in tears. Wade’s story is so remarkable that I would recommend buying the story just for that element alone.

But luckily for us, there are so many outstanding facets to this series/trilogy. We have mysteries, we have murders, we have secret psychic organizations and above all, we have a romance so deeply felt, so warm and right, that I kept going back and rereading parts of their journey towards love and a full partnership. Gray and Cooper are perfection in their imperfections. Neither comes across as anything less than authentic. They feel real, became very real to me, and therefore I invested 100 percent of my affections and interest in their story and their futures.

Lightning Struck Tower is perhaps the most intense of all three stories, and as it ties up so many loose ends, it is also supplies the most satisfying conclusion to this incredible trilogy. This portion took me on a roller coaster of emotions, gasps of “no, no, that didn’t just happen,” to sobbing like a baby over Wade’s traumatic past, and I loved every minute of it. Fenraven skillfully builds our anticipation and anxiety as we can see enemies gathering around our couple, and then adds some wonderful twists and turns that I didn’t see coming. I feel that every facet of this story is so well done that, really, I have no quibbles other than I wanted much more.

I think you will notice that I switch back and forth between calling this a trilogy or a series. I did that for a reason. I just don’t know what it is. As a trilogy it works beautifully, but there is enough left open ended that additional stories would fit in nicely without taking anything away from these three books. Fenraven told me that it is possible that there might be more for Gray and Cooper, but there are no guarantees. So I will hold onto that hope, and return back to this trilogy to start over when I need my Gray and Cooper fix once more.

Terrific, right? I walked around on a cloud all day, feeling drunk and happy. If you haven’t read it yet, the first book is available for the low, low price of $.99. Meet Gray and Cooper and discover what she loved about them.

Yesterday, I plugged a book by China Blue called Bringer of Light. Because of your RTs and reblogs, the novel hit #1 on an Amazon list. Thanks! Her free promo giveaway continues through Friday. Pick it up here.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Today is a Good Day to Die

  1. AJ Rose says:

    “Today is a good day to die,” is from Flatliners, right?

  2. Suze says:

    Read the review earlier on JoyfullyJay, its great!

  3. A.M.B. says:

    Congratulations on the wonderful review! That’s great. I’m looking forward to finishing the trilogy/series.

  4. diannegray says:

    This is a fantastic review, Theo. Well done! 😉

  5. Sarah_Madison says:

    Awesome review, Theo! I’d be strutting like a peacock! 😀

Leave a Reply

