Working Weekends Make Me Dull

People probably think I live an exciting life, always going here and there, and in summer, that’s often true, but in winter, not so much. In winter, it is cold and I’d rather stay indoors. On weekends, I generally stay home.

Late Thursday, the publisher I work for asked if I’d like to take on a last-minute edit. They wanted it by Monday. It’s hard for me to say no in such cases, so I finished the manuscript I was working on late Thursday and early Friday, jumped into the new edit.

I cleared all my commitments and settled down to work. I put in about twelve hours Friday, another twelve on Saturday, and three on Sunday. Doesn’t sound like much fun, does it?

This kind of intense focus makes me a little crazy. I almost feel feverish. By Sunday afternoon, I was brain fried, a little anxious, and very tired. I got off the computer and read a while. I took a look at a new story I’m working on. I did some work on a cover for AJ. I even created a page on Facebook, not that I’ve done anything with it. If you’re curious, you can go here.

I uploaded a cover photo. That photo is a crop of the most popular picture on my DeviantArt page. It’s been saved and downloaded dozens of times. If only I had a library like that! But alas, it was taken at a friend’s house. I can visit it but I can’t live there.

As I write this, it’s Sunday evening and I’m streaming something on Netflix I’m paying no attention to. In a few minutes, I’ll take the Kindle to bed and try to read a while.

Yup, I lead an exciting life.

I’m already anxious for spring. I want to get the scooter out again and tool around on it with the camera. I want to be able to leave the house without putting on extra layers of clothing.

And oh joy, soon I have to start packing so I can move at the end of February. *sigh* Boxes are piled at one end of the living room, waiting for me to put things in them, but first, I have to buy some packaging tape. I know I have some around here but I haven’t seen it since I moved last March. In fact, there are several boxes in the spare room I never bothered to unpack.

How convenient! Now I’m glad I ignored them all these months. ;/

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Working Weekends Make Me Dull

  1. Elin Gregory says:

    Don’t your eyes hurt? If I spent that much time editing I’d be seeing double. That’s a heavy weekend’s work.

    • Surprisingly, no. But my brain did. I was feeling mildly disoriented by the time I finished that edit. I’m gonna try really hard not to do that again any time soon. It really was too much.

  2. diannegray says:

    Two of my least favourite things. Working weekends and moving. You poor thing!

    • Sometimes it must be done. *sigh* I’m going to try and schedule free time during the actual move so I don’t stress myself really bad. And I really have to move more. Walking the dog is a short affair these days, given our usual cold weather, but this week, suddenly, temps are above freezing during the day, so there’s no excuse not to get out for longer jaunts. Need to balance all that time I spend sitting on my ass, which, if I don’t watch it, will soon grow to unacceptable proportions.

Leave a Reply

