Something for self-publishers to ponder. As it happens, I unpublished my books at SW two weeks ago because the titles never showed up anywhere I was promised.

Author Jolea M. Harrison

Writer Beware!

The complaints are piling up over the unresponsiveness of Mark Coker’s Smashwords publishing company, which touts you’ll get “Your ebook. Your way.” Authors send emails through the proper contact and wait for a reply. And wait. And wait. Sometimes, for weeks, there is no response. This is not how to run a business that is trying to compete with Amazon.

In my own recent experience, I chose to use Smashwords as a means to have my books published to iTunes and other outlets, like Sony and Diesel. The iTunes author interface is cumbersome and difficult for this author to figure out. The SW (Smashwords) meatgrinder is disliked by many authors, but I never had a problem with it, or with getting accepted into the premium SW catalogue that is required before books can be sent out for distribution. I did all that. Passed the meatgrinder. Had my books…

View original post 824 more words

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Sarah_Madison says:

    Interesting post. I was considering using Smashwords myself in the near future, but you have me rethinking that! If you aren’t using them for your indie work, however, who *are* you using?

    • I publish at Amazon, B&N, and ARe. The first two do not require an ISBN number. If you email ARe, they will provide you with a placeholder ISBN to use, and so you’re good to go there too, an important consideration as ARe is huge in m/m sales.

      I’ve heard good things about Lulu, though I have no personal experience with them. I do know you can buy an ISBN from them for around $35. (Still too expensive for me.)

      If you have an ISBN number, you can publish to other vendors, like Kobo and Apple. I am no expert, so do look it up, but I checked Kobo and they require a number. ISBN numbers are expensive for someone at my level of sales, so I’m putting that off for now.

Leave a Reply

