Six Sentence Sunday

A Silence Kept is being re-released March 1. This is one of the stories I got the rights back to a few weeks ago. At that time, that publisher was slapping the same cover on all stories of a certain length, and I really hated it. I hated all my covers there.

First, it made my ebook look like everyone else’s. Second, it didn’t fit what was going on in the story. Two naked men embracing on the cover may catch a buyer’s eye, but it doesn’t tell you what the book’s about.

Covers have a huge influence on whether or not a reader will buy it, and how can anyone know if they want to give it a try if it’s assembly line and doesn’t work with the story?

I decided to expand the story. I’d long been wanting to do that. It needed more depth, and as I re-read it, I saw a few things that needed revision. In other words, it’s now a much better tale.

The setup: Mikal rents a place north of Manhattan after a bad break-up with his boyfriend/work partner. The realtor reluctantly warns him the place is haunted. Mikal blows it off; he doesn’t believe in ghosts.

After a bad first night, Mikal is sitting on the porch when the handyman shows up to mow the lawn. After packing up to leave, Emmet says:

___________

“He likes you. The ghost. He’s not likely to leave you be.”

I frowned at him. “And you know this how?”

“He’s standing right behind you, smiling.”

___________

I get a chill every time I read that, but then, I’m a sucker for ghost stories. 🙂

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday

  1. AJ Rose says:

    That was my favorite line!

  2. Elin Gregory says:

    That’s nice. A bit spine-tingling but a lot better than Emmet saying “He’s standing right behind you miming trying to rip your head off.” 🙂
    Covers are important. when I’m ebook shopping, my eyes just skip over the dozens of naked headless torsos and fix on the interesting stuff.

    • That’s nice to hear about the covers. I tend to look for more interesting ones, too, but from what I’ve heard, we are in a minority. It seems many readers like the headless naked torsos. Imagine that. ;/

  3. Sienna says:

    Ok, don’t shoot me, but I have to admit yummy men on the covers are highly appreciated. LOL That said, I don’t like headless naked torsos either, because such a cover just smacks of laziness.

    What I also don’t like are those generic covers where the publisher just change the title and the author’s name. I often mistook them for the same book and I wonder how many other readers do that as well, and thus probably miss out on some great stories (or not).

    Once, someone wrote me that I had placed a wrong review at Amazon. He/she said my review was supposed to be for Book B, not Book A. Later, we realized that Books A and B have the same cover!!! Just the titles and authors are different.

    • This probably happens more than we know. And when you think about how many books are released every day, and the small number of artists responsible for designing their covers, it’s understandable why a publisher might think it’s okay to slap an identical one on each book of, say, 15K words or less. But it does a disservice to the author and the reader.

      MLR has (had? I pay no attention to them anymore) a tendency to release a bunch of stories around holidays, and every one of them gets the same (badly done) cover except for a name change.

      I’m not an expert at Photoshop, but when I zoomed in on the cover of my Christmas story, I saw how poorly it had been put together. In fact, I fixed it in about one minute. Either that artist is lazy or amazingly unskilled. There is simply no excuse, when so many good artists are looking for work.

  4. Sienna says:

    Oh, forgot to say love the six sentences you chose. If you’re going for impact, I’d say you nailed it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

