Shrines

I’m buried in work until Monday, so I offer photos today.

On the road south, I passed this odd little shrine. It was so distinctive, I turned around and parked. Grabbing my camera, I hopped across the street, dodging traffic, and took some photos.

It was cold and there was little sun, but the structure still made my jaw drop.

Shrine sm

All that stuff was painstakingly put on by hand. I’m not religious, but this kind of devotion is impressive. Here’s a closeup of the detail. Click on the photo to see it full-sized.

Shrine sm detail

The pink stones are my favorite, and they were used throughout the structure. When I think about all the time it took to do this, and all the money that was spent on the items they used, my knees get weak.

I found this last shrine in someone’s yard. It was on a large farm. I wondered why they’d built it and if they ever did anything more than ignore it, now being used to it. And then I saw the chairs in back off to the side. I guess they are still aware it’s there and visit often enough to need to sit a while.

Yard Fancy sm

Looks like it needs a bit of work, too. 🙂

Enjoy your weekend, everyone. See you Monday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Shrines

  1. suze294 says:

    Wow , that top one is amazing! Have finished the Precog books now, they were great! I really did enjoy the story. I liked that the characters were warts an all and enjoyed the humour in The Tower especially. Follow up book about the centre and tasks using their treats??!

  2. A.M.B. says:

    Wow, what an interesting place to find. Did you talk to anyone there?

  3. diannegray says:

    Wow – absolutely amazing!

  4. kanundra says:

    So beautiful, and have to add, I am loving Gray and Cooper 🙂 Onto the second part now.

  5. Sienna says:

    Nice! Shrines don’t do much for me, but the first two pics are simply amazing.

Leave a Reply

