Where I Briefly Hold Forth on Naked Men

A brief update on things:

1. No word yet on when I’m actually moving or where in the building my new apartment is. I refuse to panic. Yet. May happen. Watch for it in two to three weeks.

2. Roughing up a cover for the next release on March 1, which is titled A Silence Kept. This was a story I published almost three years ago and got the rights back to last month. It originally came in at 16K. I have revised and expanded it to around 25K (and trust me, none of it is filler; I can’t write filler). The cover will go up in the right-hand column as soon as I’m done dinking with it.

I must say, after spending a couple or three hours in Photoshop yesterday, I really really miss playing in that program. I learn so much just pushing buttons. “Oh, let’s see what this filter does… Yikes, undo. Okay, how about this blending mode? Much better. Now, what if I combine this filter with that blending mode….” So much fun! 

And once again, there are no naked men on the cover, because I happen not to like them on covers. In my bed, walking down the street, parading around at the beach–naked men are fine and even desirable, but not on my covers. To me, it looks tacky. And as it seems everyone has those covers these days, I’m going my own way (and will no doubt pay the price for that in reduced sales, because readers tend to like naked men on covers).

Speaking of naked men, how would you feel seeing one wander about the house all day sans clothing? You know, the dangly bits, uh, dangling and bouncing and generally doing intermittent calisthenics?

I’m reminded of that Seinfeld episode where Jerry’s girlfriend was a nudist and he would make outrageous faces at some of the things he saw her doing naked. Hilarious episode, but then, I’m a Seinfeld geek. Seen every episode a zillion times.

Okay, getting off the subject, which is nudity. When I lived in Florida, I belonged to a nude resort, courtesy of my then-employer. It was a true resort. You could rent or buy a place to stay, there were multiple pools and community areas, waterfalls and game areas, and restaurants. And in every single place, naked people strode around, oblivious of all the flesh in their vicinity.

I kind of loved it. I saw some amazingly fit people, and I saw quite a few that were not, but surprisingly, it didn’t matter. Being without clothes ceased to be a ‘thing’ about five seconds after I took mine off and stashed them in the trunk of the car.

They give you this little white towel when you arrive, and you are expected to use it every time you sit. You can get a new towel any time you like, and you turn them in when you leave.

I’ve looked up nudist places in MN. There are maybe two, and I’m pretty sure no one is walking around naked in temperatures that, this week, top out at around 16 degrees. I might have to check them out in the spring. Being naked levels the playing field. Everyone is the same without clothes (though admittedly, some people look better than others). Doesn’t matter how much money you have, how much you don’t have, whether you run a business or sweep up after everyone goes home. You’re just… human.

Ain’t nothing wrong with that.

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where I Briefly Hold Forth on Naked Men

  1. kanundra says:

    Started reading your book 🙂 Going to recommend it to a few friends too…

Leave a Reply

