‘Tis the Season

I’ve decided to take a well-deserved break over the next week. I’ve been working like a crazy person over the last year and a half. When I wasn’t writing, I was working. When I wasn’t working, I was moving, learning how to get around a new city, breaking up with one person and getting closer to another.

So I’m going to rest and re-charge the batteries.

This doesn’t mean I’ll be completely sloth-like. I plan to finalizeΒ The Lightning Struck Tower and release that shortly after the new year. Last book of the trilogy! I’m so excited.

I was driving into the west one winter morning when the sun was coming up behind me. A tremendously bright light kept bouncing off my rear view mirror, blinding me. Finally, I had to pull over and see what it was.

I stood in awe of a sight I have not seen before or since. These are sun dogs. I think people see them frequently in the southwest, but this was my first time. Aren’t they gorgeous? Shooting straight into the sun like that, I’m surprised I didn’t blow out the camera’s sensor. πŸ™‚

Sun Dogs

I’ll be back in a week. See you then!

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ‘Tis the Season

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    Wow! I’ve never heard of sun dogs. Happy holiday.

    • I saw them in a film once. It was called Baghdad Cafe. I highly recommend it. Different, amusing, involving, and a fine resolution. πŸ™‚ The story centers around a run-down motel in the Nevada desert and the characters who frequent it.

      Otherwise, I wouldn’t have known what they were either. Would have had to look ’em up.

  2. erin o'quinn says:

    Looks like I’ll have to back up and get the first two of the trilogy. Huge congrats on the upcoming release.
    I’m from the southwest (Nevada) and have never seen a “sun dog.” You captured a golden moment.
    I wish you and your loved ones joy of the season, Fen, and in all the years to come. πŸ˜€ Erin

  3. Lindsaysf says:

    Ho ho ho Merry Christmas and all that. This is the perfect time of year for stepping back out of the rush and reassessing or rebooting or just plain snoozing.

  4. Elin Gregory says:

    Wow, sundogs! What a fabulous photo!

    I hope you have a good break. I’m looking forward to reading the Lightning Struck Tower when it comes out. Do you want a spot on my blog when it releases?

Leave a Reply

