Photos: Winter Beauty

While it’s not my favorite season, I have gotten some good pictures while freezing my ass off. It doesn’t take long before my toes get cold, and to use the camera, I have to take my gloves off. Brrr!

This is a small creek off a back road in Wisconsin. What captured my attention was the bright green contrasting with the snow. 

Small Creek sm

Another stream, in another part of the state. Notice the footprints crossing the patch of snow in the water? I’m not much of a tracker, so I don’t know what creature made them. Click to see it larger.

Last of Winter sm

This photo was taken from a friend’s back deck. It was early morning, the sun just about to top the trees. The light is beautiful and there’s a surprising amount of color in the woods.

Morning Bench sm

Our forecast this weekend is for a mix of rain/snow/sleet, which will make driving unpleasant. I have no plans to go anywhere.

The Lightning Struck Tower is in final edits. I’m starting to get excited about releasing it after the holidays!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Photos: Winter Beauty

  1. diannegray says:

    Wonderful pics, Theo. I love that little chair covered in snow 😉

  2. therealtbaggins says:

    So beautiful. And great news about the book. You’re a machine!!

  3. Lindsaysf says:

    The foot prints look like they come out of the water. I’m guessing beaver. I can’t see them very close, but it’s certainly not a deer. Nope, probably not beaver. Footprints would be more evenly spaced. Doesn’t look like rabbit to me. Not a dog. Nor a fox. 2 paw prints together, slightly offset, with 2 more paw prints about 6″ away. An otter??

    • Don’t know. I’ve considered this a mystery. Even when you click on the photo to see it better, the prints are still strange. But something obviously made them, and yes, it came from the water. No sign of dragging, either, and lined up precisely.

      As mysteries go, it’s a good one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

