Movie Rec: “10”

I watched an old movie tonight… “10“. Yeah, that’s the name of it. It was done in 1979 and stars Julie Andrews and Dudley Moore (the original Arthur). I thought it would be dated, inconsequential, even stupid, but what a surprise… it was still relevant and made me think.

It’s about a Beverly Hills songwriter (Moore) who experiences a midlife crisis. Andrews is his love, Bo Derek is the symbol of his vanished youth. He sees Derek on her wedding day in Beverly Hills and follows her to Mexico, where she’s on her honeymoon. Okay, sounds dumb, but watch it. Funny, insightful, hilarious, and some of the best lines I’ve ever heard in a film. The conversation between Moore and Andrews in bed about the meaning of the word “broad” is amazing. 🙂

When you’re young, you never think you’re going to get old, but unfortunately, everyone who lives gets older. It’s devastating, realizing you will age, acquire wrinkles, get gray hair, start to acquire aches and pains, maybe have trouble getting up in the morning, but inevitably, it happens to us all. 

What does someone think, looking back on their vanished youth? “Where did it go? Why did I work so hard? Why didn’t I do that? Why didn’t I fuck him/her? I want to go back, I want to do it again. I want another chance!” It’s sad, but it’s the passage of time we all experience. And it seems, despite our best intentions, there will be regrets.

Where are you on that journey? Are you young? Filled with life and lust and the need to experience more? Is there nothing you can’t do, nothing you can’t have simply because you want it? You’re gorgeous and perfect and everyone bows down to you?

Or maybe you’re at a point in time when you’re settled. You’ve found your love, moved in together, maybe gotten married, perhaps had or adopted children. The future is assured, you are satisfied. You think it will never change. Everything will happen as it should… because you want it to. Because you expect it to. It’s decreed, after all.

Or maybe you’re balanced on the precipice between middle and old age. Ahead there is only death. You see it coming and it comforts you even as it terrifies. Those who are younger look at you and sneer, thinking you’re a pain in the ass, you drive too slow, you won’t get out of their way. The young look at you and do not see their future, while in your mind, there is a world of experience, an eternity of wisdom… and they don’t see it. They don’t value it.

The old are under attack right now in this country, mostly from the GOP who want to delay medicare, reduce benefits, cut social security, when they should be strengthening these programs to make life a little easier for citizens who’ve likely worked their entire lives, either in jobs or raising children or both. They’re trying to make what is already a trying time even worse. That’s a scary thing, and I hope they are overridden by those with more compassion.

I’m listening to “Illuminated” by Hurts from the Happiness album. It’s beautiful, fitting.

Time waits for no-one, 
So do you want to waste some time alone tonight.
Don’t be afraid of tomorrow, 
Just take my hand, 
I’ll make it feel so much better tonight.

Suddenly my eyes are open, 
Everything comes into focus, ah.
We are all illuminated, 
Lights are shining on are faces, ah, blinded.

I know it sounds cliche, but don’t waste a minute. Treasure every second. Stop in the moment. Remind yourself to remember, to tuck it away for the future, because if you don’t, it’s gone forever.

This photo was taken at Memory Park in Grantsburg, WI this last fall. The dog was a surprise. I saw this black head sniffing in the weeds and finally, he stepped out and looked at me. The birds are Canada geese and swans. The latter was another surprise, but it shouldn’t have been. Grantsburg offers nearby Crex Meadows, a large wildlife refuge worth a visit. I like the way the mother swan is eyeing the dog, keeping an eye on him, while her children watch her, not the dog. Click to see it larger.

Dog and Birds Memory Park sm

Life really is too short, but you don’t know that until it’s too late.

Music is the soundtrack of life. Songs I listened to tonight:

If I Could Fall in Love, Lenny Kravitz

Letters from the Sky, Civil Twilight

Breath of Life, Florence and the Machine

Time, Hans Zimmer

Butterflies and Hurricanes, Muse

Illuminated, Hurts

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Movie Rec: “10”

  1. HBIC says:

    Physically I’m in the middle group; I’m settled, married, have children and a mortgage. Mentally I’m in the latter group; I see old age and death hovering on the horizon, but I’ve *always* been here mentally – even as a young teen the weight of inevitability lurked in the back of my mind.

    I see the struggles my mother-in-law (who lives with us) deals with, and I catch glimpses of what may or may not be waiting down the line for my children; both leave me feeling like I’m not doing enough to help, but fuck if I know what more I could do. It gets overwhelming at times.

    • What makes it harder is this country looks down on old people. They aren’t venerated, they’re kind of ignored, they aren’t kept in the household as they age. We might as well throw them out on an ice flow, because we’re essentially doing that anyway when we stick them in homes.

      I really really hope, when the time comes, I go quickly. Watching the slow but steady deterioration of my grandfather is painful. I doubt he even knows who I am anymore, but medicine insists on keeping him alive despite the quality of life being low.

  2. HBIC says:

    I’m in the same boat with my grandmother; she’s been ready to “go” since three years after my grandfather died in ’04 (his oft repeated hope was that she live three years past his death so she would have had at least as long a life as he did). She had a stroke over the summer; medicine saved her, and rehab gave her back some mobility, but her heart just isn’t in it anymore. She does have Alzheimer’s but still recognizes people and stuff, so she’s aware of her own decline.

    I think sudden death is easier on the departed while death after illness is often easier on those left behind – seeing a loved one suffer seems to make it a little easier for many people to let go when that suffering is over.

Leave a Reply

