Snow Falls and Suki is Sad

Suki and I walk every day after her dinner in the tiny woods across the street. Friday, I happened to take the camera with me and grabbed a few shots. It was dusk, and not really light enough for photos, but they came out enough to post one here.

Before Snow 12.8.12 sm.

The birdhouse says “City Academy.” No idea who put it there or what that means. The touch of yellow near the bottom is crime scene tape. It’s wrapped around quite a few things in these woods, and I’m pretty sure there was no crime. Some kids were just having fun.

This morning, I woke up to a radically changed world. Winter, which has held off for weeks, finally arrived, and with a fierceness that is going to cause big problems. I don’t think anyone is ever really prepared when the first big snow hits.

After Snow 12.9.12 sm

Same area, two days later. And the snow is still falling heavily. It’s possible we will get 10-15″ by the time it finishes, supposedly tonight.

I have no plans to go anywhere. However, when I let Suki out, I had to bring a shovel and clear a patch of grass for her. She’s so tiny, even a couple inches of snow makes it nearly impossible for her to do her business.

Walking Trail 12.9.12 sm

Another walking trail in our woods. I don’t think we’ll be going there again until spring. It’s just not comfortable for Suki. Besides being small, she also gets cold easily, even wearing one of her many sweaters.

Snowfall 12.9.12 sm

And so begins real winter and all the crap that comes with it. I’d admire snowfall better if I never had to travel in it. The roads are terrible right now.

Snow update: It is 5pm Sunday afternoon and there is a foot of snow on the ground. The heavy wet stuff often called ‘heart-attack’ snow. I’ve done some preliminary shoveling to dig out my car but it’s still falling heavily and expected to continue until Monday, when this blog goes live. I’m too tired right now to go out and get pictures and Monday, the high will only be 14 with wind chills below zero. I think I will not be out with the camera. You’ll have to imagine what a shitload of snow looks like. Then double it, which would make it just about right.

Mother nature is not pleased with what we’re doing on her planet.

How’s the weather where you are?

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Snow Falls and Suki is Sad

  1. fransiweinstein says:

    Raining. But snow is inevitable. I wait, with dread.

    • Rain is scary here, because it so often turns to ice in winter, making driving, even walking, treacherous. This area is great with snow removal but they aren’t equipped for ice storms. In many parts of the south, bridges are ridged to prevent ice buildup and sliding. Bridges get just as icy up north, but they aren’t ridged. I hold my breath when I drive over them.

  2. suze294 says:

    Now, I’m over the pond, in the middle of the Irish Sea and today was crisp (about 4centigrade), with clear winter blue sky and a little draft of wind, so very nice! We are in whats called temperate zone I think – basically means wet and windy all year round, because of that sea!
    Don’t get much snow on basis of being surrounded by sea, the sea warms up the cloud before it gets to us usually, much to the kids disgust.
    I did see on the news that you had lots of snow in your corner of US, don’t loose Suki in a drift!

    • Suki could easily get lost in snow! And freeze pretty much right away. She only goes out to pee during these winter months. No playing, no walking.

      What causes the worst of our weather is being near the Great Lakes. Systems swirl down around them, passing right over us, often dumping tons of moisture (in warm months) or cold (in winter).

      Because the ice caps are melting so fast, we appear to be getting less below zero weather these days.

      • suze294 says:

        We are reckoned to get colder as the ice caps continue to melt – latitude wise, we are in northern europe, Edinburgh is similar level to Moscow, and not much further north than us. At moment, the good old gulf stream keeps us warm but as the ice melt grows, the theorey is that this will push the GS further south, returning us to colder weather, brrrrr!

        • Melting ice caps are causing all kinds of trouble. I don’t think anyone yet knows what will happen, except coastal cities will probably sink back into the ocean. Florida for instance, which is flat almost everywhere, will eventually vanish underwater.

  3. HBIC says:

    Our weather is gray and entirely too warm for December (Christmas shopping in a tshirt and shorts is no fun). Storms are expected later; I’m hoping no trees fall on our house this time like they did twice last year.

    • Weather is weird everywhere! Kind of unpleasant for most of us.

      As for shopping in shorts? Bring it on! I do not insist on a white Christmas AT ALL. I prefer the year I spent the holiday in Key West. That was fun. šŸ™‚

      • HBIC says:

        I should have gone for real shorts instead of capris since the water at the mall was running high enough it soaked the bottoms which come just below my knee (I know I’m short, but that was ridiculously high water – they need a drain system overhaul). I came home (after sliding my way through the mall thanks to my soaked sandals) to no power and my survivalist-junkie child having set-up full camp on the front porch while cooking himself lunch on a propane stove. A day in the life I guess… lol

  4. HBIC says:

    It’s an outdoor mall – think strip mall only lots bigger and in kind of a bizarre layout. Getting there and finding out someone had swiped my umbrella out of the car was also fun. Not going wasn’t an option, either, since I had a store pick-up order that had to be completed today. At least the trip is done and our power is back on.

  5. A.M.B. says:

    Snow is beautiful, though inconvenient and sometimes deadly. I enjoy the first snowfall, but only on the first day, when the snow is still white and fully frozen. My area doesn’t stay below freezing for long stretches. We’re normally in the mid-40s right now, but today was 62 degrees, possibly a little warmer. I told my kiddos that it’s the warmest it’s ever been on their birthday so far. It will probably become the norm, though.

    • I’d like that. A lot of this snow would melt, but because of where we live, chances are excellent this same crap will be around in May. Snow sticks here, it doesn’t vanish.

      Suki is having a major problem with it. Too much to shovel to clear grass, plus her using a small area kills it, so I’m valiantly trying to train her to use pads. So far, it’s not working. She’s miserable, I’m miserable. Oy.

  6. diannegray says:

    Oh – poor Suki!

    The weather in my neck of the woods is warm and sunny, but we’re heading into the monsoon season so I may not be so smug next month! šŸ˜¦

    • She refuses to pee on the snow or shoveled sidewalks, so we are having a real problem right now. I have her set up in the kitchen with potty pads, which she also refuses to use. I don’t know how she’s doing it! Her tummy must be killing her.

      I’ve tried taking her out several times but she just glares at me and sits down when she doesn’t see grass. I live in an apartment building, so it’s impossible to shovel an area just for her. The kids who live here wouldn’t get it. She simply must figure this out, and soon!

      • HBIC says:

        One of our dogs refused point-blank to go outside or use pads until we found some special enough for her royal hiney. They’re called Absorbz; we get them at Costco, and they evidently have the perfect amount of attractant on them to get her to plant her butt on them. Another possibility (this one may sound weird) I heard of from a friend who moved to a cold weather area and had to retrain her dog to go inside rather than out; she called around to find a square of sod – which worked. She planned to switch to pads eventually, but we lost touch, so I have no idea whether that happened or not.

        Good luck – I hope you find something that works for her!

        • Special, huh? What a diva! LOL

          Suki’s pads are the cheapest ones I could find, because those suckers are expensive. And I spray them with “pee here, not on the couch” stuff.

          She is one stubborn dog though. Still holding out! I admire her fortitude, even though she’s frustrating me bad right now. I have thought about a square of grass, but man, that can’t be easy to maintain!

      • diannegray says:

        I don’t know if this would help, but I once bought a ‘piece of fake grass’ for my puppy when she was small and too afraid to go out at night to pee. I put it in the laundry and it seemed to do the trick…

  7. therealtbaggins says:

    Poor little doggie. And beautiful pictures, as always!

    • She’s still stubbornly fighting me. I broke down last night and took her out, where she did her thing on the sidewalk. But this is simply not feasible, so today, no out. She’s mad at me, I can tell. She’s facing away, curled up in her basket, no doubt wondering what’s wrong with me and why am I doing this to her.

      I really hope the light dawns soon.

  8. therealtbaggins says:

    Reblogged this on shadesofgay and commented:
    More amazing pictures…

Leave a Reply

