Six Sentence Sunday

As I write the last chapter of The Lightning Struck Tower and snow is falling fast and heavy in St Paul, I offer you six sentences.

Cooper and Gray are on their boat and get unexpected visitors.

______________

We were clearing the table and debating whether to stay in or go out for lunch before driving north when shadows darkened the glass doors, causing me to look up. I saw a confusing number of people before the door opened and they stepped inside.

“What the fuck! Don’t you knock?” I said to Richard McCollough, the first one into the room. At his side was Damon Winter, trusty right-hand telekinetic, and behind them, someone I didn’t know but judging by his clothing and demeanor, I was guessing he was the bodyguard.

__________

Nothing much is moving outside. Everyone is hunkered down unless they absolutely have to be somewhere. The roads haven’t been plowed yet and are dangerous. My car is buried in snow. It’s said we might get as much as fifteen inches before this storm rolls through. The high tomorrow is only fourteen.

I’m trying to convince AJ we need to move to Florida. Like… NOW. Surprisingly, he’s not arguing much against it. ;/

 

 

 

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday

  1. HBIC says:

    Intriguing snippet 🙂
    I’m a little jealous of your weather; I’ve never seen that much snow except on tv. It’s almost 70 and muggy here which makes me not want to leave the house, but grandma’s birthday must be celebrated.

  2. therealtbaggins says:

    Oh,yes, the trusty right-hand telekinetic. You and I were separated at birth, I think. Can’t wait to read the completed novel.

    • This one was even more fun to write than the other two. 🙂 I’m really close to the end now! But I keep letting the snow distract me. It’s really coming down! Wow. Been a long time since I’ve seen this much fall in one storm.

  3. therealtbaggins says:

    Reblogged this on shadesofgay and commented:
    Fenraven is coming right along on the final book in his trilogy, for those of you left hanging by the cliffhanger…

  4. Elin Gregory says:

    Very good. Can’t wait to read this.
    Sorry about the snow. Keep warm now.

    • Shoveling certainly keeps you warm. ;/ But I can’t keep up with the snowfall! Cleared a foot off the car, which means clearing two feet from the ground around it. No idea how I’m supposed to get to the street. Landlord should be taking care of that, not me.

  5. diannegray says:

    Wow – you must have had a lot of snow!

    The story sounds fabulous – looking forward to reading it 😉

    • Let’s say it took the area by surprise. 🙂 And it’s still snowing as I write this.

      I’m just wrapping it up now. I hope to finish this first draft before bed tonight. Then the editing and rewriting begins. Non-writers have no idea, right? Heh.

  6. Lindsaysf says:

    It snowed here too. Heavy. Looks like it’s stopped now. I actually went out and shoveled. As for you, get back to work!!!! I want to read “the rest of the story”! 🙂
    Glorious picture of Suki btw.

    • I’m just wrapping up Tower now. First draft complete! This week, editing and rewriting to make it as good as can be, then it goes to AJ to beta.

      It will be released in January, as planned!

Leave a Reply

