Photos and a Few Updates

I’m well over halfway through writing The Lightning Struck Tower. It will be released in January as scheduled unless someone drops a bomb or the world ends in December. Either is conceivable, considering the news. Sea levels are rising faster than predicted. Uganda wants to kill all gays and anyone with AIDS/HIV. The Salvation Army is out there, asking for your money so they can turn around and use it to fight gay rights.

Sometimes, the world just wears me out, wears me down. I wonder why I struggle so hard, keep on fighting. It’s not enough I’m safe, my loved ones are safe. I want everyone to be safe and to enjoy the same rights I do.

The Silver Publishing discussion seems to have died down. I don’t know what that means. I haven’t been following the discussion. My part in it is done. I did my job for them as best I could and I’ve moved on. I hope Silver makes it, and I hope authors and staff get what’s coming to them.

My freelance editing is doing really well; thanks to all of you who have made use of my services and recommended me to others! I appreciate it.

Why not celebrate being alive with a few photos?

These are older, taken in a different place and time. This first cat pic is of Othello. He belongs to my mom, along with Sophie, the cat that follows.

Both are getting on in years now, being in their mid-teens. They get along well, except when they don’t. 🙂 But they take pretty pictures and I have several photos of these two.

The last one for today is a of a swan. Talk about beautiful!

Enjoy hump day, everyone. See you again on Friday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Photos and a Few Updates

  1. Lindsaysf says:

    I remember Sophie!!! Lord, those eyes. Glorious picture.

  2. A.M.B. says:

    It’s hard not to let the status of human rights around the world get you down. Hopefully, we’ll see progress sooner rather than later. The pictures are beautiful. Those cats have the most stunning eyes.

  3. therealtbaggins says:

    Glad the book is coming along on schedule, and thanks as always for the remarkable photos!

  4. diannegray says:

    Good to hear the book s scheduled for January – I hope the world doesn’t end as well!

    Like everyone else – I think those cats eyes are stunning 😉

  5. Elin Gregory says:

    Terrific pictures. I think it’s a good idea to use the beauty around us to take our minds off some of the awfulness.

    • I think that’s why I don’t give up photography. Looking through a viewfinder forces me to see things in a new way. I believe the process is complimentary with writing.

      Writing is an internal thing. I’m in my head all the time. Photography takes me out of my head and into the world. The two things are both creative but in totally different ways.

      • Elin Gregory says:

        Recharging the creative batteries by doing something completely different from time to time is very important. And when one gets such stunning results, all the better.

        • 🙂 Thanks.

          I’ve been dabbling in photography and post-processing in Photoshop for going on thirteen years. I’ve learned some things, and I keep learning, because I am always blown away to discover something new, either using the camera or in PS. Although I don’t have the time I once did to play, I keep up because you’re correct: doing something completely different definitely charges the batteries.

          One day, I would like to take up digital painting, too. I’ve done some in the past and loved it, but it is time consuming.

Leave a Reply

