The Eternal Mystery of Dragon(flies)

Today, I revisit my past, when dragonflies followed me everywhere, begging me to take their picture. They still follow me, but often I simply gaze at them in wonder, that such marvelous creatures share the planet with us.

This first one is a Halloween Pennant, so-called because of his orange color. To see it larger, click on the photo. There was a strong wind that day; I expected him to be blown off his perch at any moment.Ā 

 

You see dragonflies mating often. They only have a short time to do it, so there’s no fooling around. Look closely, and you’ll see the red eggs under the male’s tail.

 

The sun caught the wings of this red dwarf beautifully.

 

The day I saw this couple was magical. Cottonwood filled the air and floated on the water in bright sun, sparkling like gems. They were literally walking on the water of this small pond.

 

 

Enjoy your Monday!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Eternal Mystery of Dragon(flies)

  1. lesuperkikke says:

    sono fantastiche queste foto

  2. A.M.B. says:

    It’s lovely to see the intricate details of their wings Great pictures!

  3. diannegray says:

    WOW – fantastic shots, Theo!

    • Thanks! Dragonflies love me. šŸ™‚

      • diannegray says:

        There must be a really good (and intriguing) reason for that… šŸ˜‰

        • šŸ™‚ I only know, wherever I go, dragonflies show up. They even tend to show off for me.

          Mysterious emanations aside, I’ve gotten better at filming wildlife because I try and make myself non-threatening and still inside. If that makes any kind of sense. I move quietly and slowly.

          Doesn’t always work but often seems to help me get closer than most people can.

          • diannegray says:

            I need to learn that, Theo. We were going down to the creek to find a crocodile the other day and I was told to be quiet while we were walking through the bush. I forgot and opened my big mouth about the beauty of some yellow flowers I saw. Everyone turned and looked at me and said SHHHHH! Anyway, the crocodiles were gone by the time we got to the creek bank šŸ˜¦

            You’re very lucky – I wish dragonflies were attracted to me!

          • Try stalking wildlife with a curious dog at your heels. Suki loves to accompany me on walks in the woods, and often, her rambunctiousness has cost me a good photo.

            Over time, however, she’s learned when I say, “Wait,” it means to stop and be quiet until I tell her otherwise. Works pretty well!

  4. therealtbaggins says:

    These are all extraordinary. Thank you.

  5. Those last shots on the water are absolutely gorgeous Theo. I asked my husband to get me a camera for xmas, because I want to start taking pictures too!

Leave a Reply

