Special Thanksgiving Post: I’ve Been Tagged

Elin Gregory tagged me for a WIP blog hop so here goes:

The game is to find the word “look” or a variation in your current work in progress, and post an excerpt from that section of the manuscript. I did a search and yeah, plenty of incidences of that word in The Lightning Struck Tower. So here ya go! The first excerpt from the last book in the Precog in Peril series.

Gray and Cooper are in bed, having just finished getting it on. This excerpt is for adults only.

_______________

He watched me pull off the condom and pitch it in the basket. “Do you like using those?”

I passed him a handful of tissue. “Do you know anyone who does?”

“Want to stop?”

I looked up sharply but he’d dropped his eyes, seemingly finding cleaning the come off his chest and stomach totally absorbing. “Are you suggesting we be exclusive?”

He tossed the tissues in the basket, still not meeting my eyes. “… Yeah. If you’re okay with that, I mean.”

We tested regularly for STDs. We knew we were clean, but we used condoms anyway, just in case one of us ran into a piece of stuff too tasty to turn down. Never say never because the minute you did, someone showed up. But I hadn’t been with anyone since meeting Cooper. I didn’t think he had either.

Was I ready to commit? We’d been together such a short while, and circumstances had forced us together, making it nearly impossible to be tempted by anyone else. I was in love with Cooper. I couldn’t keep my hands off him. But when our lives settled into a routine, would I want to stray? Would I once again be lusting after some bad boy destined to treat me like dirt?

The thought made me shudder. No more bad boys, damn it. They were bad for my soul and kicked the shit out of my heart. Wasn’t it about time I grew up and realized how good he was for me?

I pulled him into my arms. “I’ve fucked around plenty. I know what’s out there.” I kissed his temple. “But what about you? Want to limit yourself so early in the game?” He was only eighteen.

“I know what I want,” he said firmly, pushing his head into the juncture between my neck and shoulder. “So we’re agreed?”

Jesus, this was scary, but I wanted it. I did. I wanted him. “Yeah. I won’t fuck anyone but you. But we have to wait to pitch the condoms until after our next tests.”

“Okay.” He lifted his head, his smile so beautiful it melted the last small bit of resistance in me.

We lay down, still wrapped in each other’s arms, and I found myself looking at the ceiling, or rather the overhead light. There was a dark shadow on the inside of the old-fashioned glass shade.

I pointed. “What the hell is that?

Cooper rolled onto his back and looked up. “Don’t know. Too big to be a fly. Maybe it’s a bunch of flies?”

I pulled free of him and stood, bouncing lightly on the bed until I had my balance, and then reached up and curled my hand around the edge of the glass. I had to go up on tiptoe to grab the thing. Once I’d removed it, I saw there was a small round hole in the glass shade.

I was holding a piece of black plastic with an eye in the center of it. I showed it to him as anger surged through me.

“Wireless video. Son of a bitch.”

Cooper scowled and jumped off the bed. He pulled on his shoes and gestured toward me. “Toss it down here.” After I did so, he jumped up and down on it until it broke. Kicking the pieces under the bed, he removed his shoes and slipped under the covers. “Turn off the light, will you?”

Disgusted, I flipped off the wall switch and got in beside him.

“Think of it this way,” I said with grim humor. “We got to have sex in public again.”

“Yeah. Too bad we didn’t know it at the time. That might have been really hot.”

________

Tomorrow’s post: “Is That a Man, or a Woman Wearing a Strap-on?” See you then!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Special Thanksgiving Post: I’ve Been Tagged

  1. therealtbaggins says:

    Love the realism. 🙂 Thanks for a no calorie T-day treat.

  2. Elin Gregory says:

    That was fun 🙂 now I really want to know who placed the wireless vid cam there.

Leave a Reply

