There are still corn fields in St Louis

As I write this, the road trip is still in progress, although I’m currently sitting on a comfy couch in a place I rarely visit. AJ and I are sleeping in the same room, despite his mother’s protests. Basically, I just assumed there’d be no problem and then charmed the shit out of her. And seriously, I would have snuck into his bed anyway and she probably knows that.

The weather here is really nice so far. It was sunny and 70 yesterday, and there are still leaves on the trees. The grass is green everywhere, but the fields are starting to take on a winter look. Yes, there are a few fields where we are, scattered between the clone home and shopping areas. Jesus, this place is crowded! So many people everywhere. Wisconsin is nearly a ghost town in comparison. 

Other than dinner that first night and a Walmart run for his mom, we’ve stayed close to home. Yesterday, I escaped to the deck with my laptop. So nice to sit in the sun again and feel warmth! I thought I was experiencing something really special… and then my boss sent me an email, saying they recorded 69 at the Mpls/St Paul airport.

So much for ‘special weather!’

We get one more nice day, and then things sour, not just here but back home. Temperatures drop and bad weather moves in: rain in St Louis, snow/sleet in St Paul. Oh, joy. The drive home might be too much fun for words.

Sunday is my writing day and locale doesn’t make a difference. AJ and I are both intending to hunker down after breakfast and get some writing done.

Tomorrow morning, we’re back on the road, driving home. Expect to see photos from the trip on Wednesday’s blog.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There are still corn fields in St Louis

  1. Lindsaysf says:

    Ah yes, winter. We just had our first snow, albeit a light one. As I was making an appointment for Dec. 21, someone reminded me that officially that’s the start of winter. START???*sigh* I guess that’s true but by January I’m chomping at the bit for spring.

  2. diannegray says:

    The trip sounds interesting, Theo. Looking forward to seeing the pics 😀

Leave a Reply

