Does the Camera You Use Make a Difference? Yes.

When Suki and I went kayaking, I had my camera along but forgot to bring a waterproof bag large enough to put it in. I borrowed a small pocket camera, which fit in a ziplock baggie. When kayaking, it is always best to expect the worst.

The river was very low that day. We headed north to Sandrock Cliff but didn’t make it. Instead, we fetched up against a sandbar just short of that goal. 

This first pic isn’t bad. It’s clear and sharp from edge to edge and the color isn’t bad. I dinked around with it, but one must always start with a good photo. My regular camera would have been better but at least I had one!

Here’s another view of that same area. I climbed up on the island and took the photo from a slightly higher elevation.

This one had to be dodged on the left hand side; the colors there were dark and muddy. I’ve found a way to do this non-destructively, so the original isn’t screwed up. I wanted to bring out those whites, especially along that part of the shore. It almost glows, doesn’t it? And it adds interest to that part of the photo. I also love the white bubbles in the water there.

Suki is very small in this photo. I’m facing north and I noticed the camera lens blurred the photo slightly on the right. You can see it in the foreground leaves. I could have cropped them out, but I liked the deep green of the trees on that side, and the darkness below them.

This last photo again shows blurring on the right. I cropped out the worst of it but it’s still noticeable. Meh. It’s a Nikon Coolpix. I’m not impressed. I do like that falling drift of leaves just slightly left of center. Lovely.

Today was much like last Tuesday. It hit 70 and was sunny and warm with the wind from the south. I should have gone out and played but instead, I remained inside working. Sometimes I am a dull person indeed.

If another such day occurs this week, I will take the camera to the local zoo. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Does the Camera You Use Make a Difference? Yes.

  1. therealtbaggins says:

    Reblogged this on shadesofgay and commented:
    I will be purchasing a new camera around Christmas time, so I find this helpful…

    • Every couple of years, I decide it’s time to upgrade the camera. I read reviews obsessively and study the sample photos offered. I keep in mind how I use it and what the deal breakers are. Then I hold my breath, cross my fingers, and make the purchase. So far, I’ve been happy with what I’ve gotten.

      Based on my use of the Nikon, I’d never recommend it for ‘serious’ photography. It’s good in a pinch, but that’s it. Too bad, too, because it’s small size is a big plus.

      I began with Olympus and I still think their lenses are the best EVER; the pictures are sharp, clear, and the color simply breathtaking. However, the camera uses a proprietary battery, not easy to replace. That’s what made me move to Canon a few years ago. Canon’s a respected name in the field, a lot of photographers use them, and even though my current model uses a proprietary battery (!), I simply bought a spare and went with it.

      The current camera isn’t perfect. I have to work around some lens flaws (like the Nikon, it tends to blur a bit on one side, but it’s wide angle and I can adjust for that), but generally speaking, I like it. The long zoom is a huge plus for someone who does nature photography. Also, keep in mind I can’t afford and so don’t use the high-end cameras from Canon (or even Nikon; I’ve heard those ‘D’ models are incredible). I’m squarely in the prosumer demographic.

  2. Your blogs make me want to take pictures.

Leave a Reply

