Manic Monday Bits and Pieces

I worked all weekend. Did not party, did not visit friends or family, didn’t do one fun thing. But don’t feel sorry for me because instead, I finished editing a manuscript for a publisher, then leaped right into Knight of Wands, which is nearing the last page. I think another five thousand words or so will do it.

Do I know how it will end? Yes, and why? Because this morning, instead of getting out of bed when I woke up, I slid under the covers, closed my eyes, and thought about the story. And startling new information popped into my mind. Before this morning, I had only the vaguest idea how the story should end.

AJ hates that I can do this. See, I don’t write outlines. I jot down notes as I write, using a free program called Stickies, but I mostly let it unfold as I go, hoping things will work out. Like any reader, I want to be surprised. If I know what’s going to happen, I get bored and lose interest… which means I might not finish the story. 

So I go along, not knowing what’s going to happen, and just like the reader, I’m often amazed at the turn of events. Considering I’m writing a trilogy and Knight of Wands is the second book, this could lead to a situation where I write myself into a corner. You know, put my main character(s) into a situation they can’t easily escape from. 

That possibility scares the crap out of me, but it’s also exhilarating. It makes me crazy, but it also excites me. If I can write my way out of this, I must be a genius! …Right? I’d like to think so. I will say the end of book two has me very excited to begin the last one of the trilogy.

______________

Voodoo Lily Press has a new purpose. Not only is it the publishing company AJ and I started, but now it is an indie writer’s co-op. We’ve offered the use of the name to a talented new author named TBaggins. I’ll be editing her story for publication and she will then self-publish under VLP’s name. AJ and I are taking no money for this. No contract is involved. She keeps all her profits, as we keep ours.

Our hope is that Voodoo Lily will become the storefront indie writers need to draw attention to their work. That’s the one thing authors going through established publishers have: access to their online presence. In time, we hope VLP will fill that need for writers who insist on bravely going their own way. To that end, I’ll be updating the site to make more effective use of the space to showcase new releases and upcoming titles.

It’s a process, and it takes time. But time we have! It passes anyway, so why not invest in the future? Voodoo Lily is one possible future, and we invite talented indie authors to contact us about joining the co-op.

_____________

I have a busy week ahead of me. At the top of the list is finishing Knight of Wands and getting it into the hands of my betas. I’ve picked up some freelance editing work and that’s a top priority. The bookbinding continues, as does my property management job. Gee, overextended much? Today, I think so. ;/

When I say I am never bored, believe it!

____________

If you haven’t already, check out my author page on Amazon! All my books in one place and other interesting things to peruse. Click the like button if you enjoyed it. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Manic Monday Bits and Pieces

  1. A.M.B. says:

    Good luck writing the rest of your trilogy and with growing Voodoo Lily Press, which sounds like a great way for indie authors to support each other as they complete the path to publication.

    • Thanks! I’d like to see VLP because a resource for writers, not only as a storefront but as a place where indie authors can support each other and share hard-won knowledge on self-publishing and promo.

  2. diannegray says:

    Wow – you are very busy indeed. Congrats on starting up Voodoo Lily Press, it sounds exciting – and a of a lot of work 🙂
    Best of luck with the trilogy as well, you’ll need to let us all know when it’s finished and published 😀

    • I’m *this close* to finishing the second book and have begun laying out the third one in my head. Trust me, I’m not gonna keep it quiet when they get published. 🙂

      VLP isn’t a lot of work so far, but as it grows, hopefully AJ and I can streamline some of that work to make it easier.

  3. Congratulations to everyone! To the Knight of Wands, to you, to TBaggins, to Voodoo Lily Press, to AJ.

Leave a Reply

