Ghost in the Hall or an Illusion?

My boss took me along when he was offered a tour of a building built in 1886. The name ‘Thompson’ is emblazoned on three sides of it. No one is sure if that’s the name of the architect or original owner. On the south side is clearly the date 1886; I got a shot of it. We were told it was a hotel at one time. Maybe it was other things, too. I mean, 1886; that’sΒ old.

It has interesting architectural details, but it’s obviously not been kept up. Just inside the front door are stairs ten feet across. And there were lots of stairs. We starting tramping through the place.

Looks like a big square on the outside but inside, stairs went in every direction and every apartment we looked at was laid out differently. They’d been updated with new appliances and looked modern and clean. I wouldn’t mind living there. It is interesting.

I got lost almost immediately, having no idea what direction I was facing at any time. It rained yesterday, so there was no sun to go by. In one hallway, I took a photo after the others had gone on. Notice the gorgeous doors! Every apartment had the original door and inside, other woodwork. But notice the floating ball of light to the left. Where the hell did that come from?

The lighting was poor throughout. My camera kept screaming at me to flip the flash up. I never did. I wanted the natural light. So what is that floating thing? I’m thinking ghost, and I’ll soon tell you why.

After visiting many hallways, some of which dead-ended abruptly, we finally went down to the basement. It is an amazing place. You can see the original walls in the following shot. Spooky? You bet! I’d hate to be down there alone at night. The basement consists of several huge rooms, and in fact, runs the full length of the building. Someone left the pool table and all the balls are there, but it’s slightly off level.

That white door on the left doesn’t go anywhere now, but it used to lead to steps that went up to the street. At the back behind the last pillar is a doorway that’s been boarded up.Β That leads to the Wabasha Street Caves, which are rather famous in the area. Click the link and read the section on Hauntings; that should make you shiver.

Our tour guide told us there are three entrances to the caves in the building but all have been blocked. My boss and I, having done some caving in our lives, really wanted to get in there! If by some chance he buys the building, I’m guessing some demo will happen. πŸ™‚

Here’s another pic I took in the basement on that same side, facing the other direction. The woman’s face has been blurred because I didn’t get a release from her (I hardly ever get releases but hey, she deserves her privacy).Β 

How’s that for a ghost?

…It’s not though. πŸ™‚ As I mentioned, the lighting was poor and my boss walked through the frame as I snapped the shutter. Great effect though, eh? I keep wondering where his head went.

We spent over an hour in the building. It was fun. Who doesn’t like exploring dank and musty corners? I think I’m going to have to take the Wabasha cave tour soon. My interest is piqued!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Ghost in the Hall or an Illusion?

  1. AJ Rose says:

    Not a haunted building, my ass.

    • That was my thought. I mean, I’ve been taking photos for a long time. I know how light works. I can’t think of one reason why that hall pic has a floating orb on it, can you?

      GHOST. *shivers in delighted horror*

  2. Kim says:

    Hi – I’ve been reading your blog for awhile, I looked for it after I read Phoenix Rising and really enjoyed it (you have seen my comment on Phoenix Rising, it was sent to you without naming me just what I do for them.) Anyway, I came to the blog to see about more books that you’d written and got hooked on your photography. It’s wonderful, you’re very talented.

    I wanted to comment this time on the ghost in your picture….I live in Anchorage, Alaska and a few years ago a photographer did a project at the Anchorage cemetery. His pictures reminded me of your picture with the ball of light. There were LOTS of balls of light in the cemetery. So, maybe you did capture a spirit. How cool is that!?

  3. therealtbaggins says:

    Reblogged this on fiftyshadesofgay and commented:
    Cool…

  4. THEO! Aww McFennie this is the first time I’ve ever commented on your WordPress after you left LJ and it’s kinda nice here. I’m catching up with you and AJ due to my earlier mentioned “sucky-friendiness”.

    Ghosts are real, real real real real.

    Don’t you ever feel like someone is looking over your shoulder or watching you in the dark?

    Real.

    ps This is the first time I’ve ever seen anything from your regular day to day ^_^

  5. rebecca2000 says:

    Super cool. I have always wanted to visit there!

Leave a Reply

