Summer Enters the Home Stretch

Over Labor Day weekend, I was in Wisconsin, where I did a lot of back road riding with the camera.

I took tons of photos, a few of which I’ll post over the coming weeks. Let’s start with one hell of a view. I remember exactly where I was when I took this one. It will be interesting to duplicate the shot in a month or so to see what fall does with the color, but already we can see a hint of red in the plants that have overgrown the fence. 

 

I’m including the following photo because I love this house! I was visiting the dentist in town and had to stop and take pictures. Whoever owns it is taking great care of it.

 

I was on one of my favorite back roads, which leads to lots of other nifty back roads, when I spotted this barn. It’s a small holding barn, unlike the gigantic red buildings you usually see in Wisconsin. It’s more suitable for goats and chickens than larger livestock. The richness of the colors made me do a quick U-turn and line up a shot before I lost more of the light.

 

While I love to observe the changing seasons through the camera, the coming of fall makes me sad because it is inevitably followed by winter, and that is simply not my season. As you can tell from my pictures, I love lush, beautiful color. Winter has none. It is black and white and that’s about it. I do take winter photos but I don’t enjoy my toes freezing and taking fingers out of gloves long enough to get the shot is often a icy lesson in fortitude.

But there are several weeks to go before snow flies, so I am told. Let’s see how many pictures I can take before then. 🙂

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Summer Enters the Home Stretch

  1. A.M.B. says:

    Late summer/early fall is an absolutely beautiful time of year! Great pictures.

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    I bet the red on the fence is Virginia Creeper, tho you may call it something else there. I love those gingerbread Victorian houses. There are a number of them in Las Vegas, NM, about an hour from Santa Fe. Out here winter isn’t just black and white. With our blue skies, some shadows are actually blue. A setting sun turns dry grasses a sparkling gold. Gotta get you out here!

  3. Elin Gregory says:

    Super photos. That house looks very exotic to me. I like the barn too. Most of our nice barns have been turned into trendy dwellings. I much prefer them as barns.

    • Houses like this are rather common here. In fact, there’s a nice Victorian on the next block. One that was on the opposite corner has since been turned down. That made me sad. But it had been allowed to get dilapidated and I can’t begin to imagine the heat bills in winter! These houses are huge.

Leave a Reply

