Phallic Imagery? Ain’t None Here. Move Along Now.

I was walking Suki in the woods the other day and came across this:

You tell me: what does this remind you of? Not even gonna give you three guesses because if you don’t get it in one, you are too young to be visiting this blog anyway. ;/

They grow in a cluster, pushing up through the floor of the woods, stinking like you wouldn’t believe. I picked one up, sniffed, and almost passed out. I figured a picture was better than the real thing. ;/

I tried looking it up online but didn’t find anything that looked quite like this, so I’m not sure if it’s edible or not but my guess is, nope, based on the smell alone. If any of my knowledgeable readers know about this particular mushroom, by all means leave a comment!

Just a reminder:Β Three of Swords officially releases tomorrow. Visit Voodoo Lily Press for buy links. It’s a paltry $2.99. Hell, you can find that under the couch cushions. And there’s still time to win a copy by commenting on Wednesday’s post.

While you’re there, check out AJ’s upcoming release,Β Power Exchange. Trust me, if you like BDSM at all, you’re gonna love this book. It’s long and wonderful and full of hot sex. Oh, and it has a good story, too. ;/

Also while you’re there, check out the cover and blurb forΒ Knight of Wands, which will be released in November.

Thanks for your support! I appreciate you stopping by, even if you don’t buy my books. Heh.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, publishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Phallic Imagery? Ain’t None Here. Move Along Now.

  1. Lindsaysf says:

    It smelled??? Wow. Never ran into a stinking mushroom, tho admittedly my acquaintance with this is minimal. Looking forward to Three of Swords.

  2. It’s some manner of stinkhorn. When my husband worked at a golf course, he would hit them with a weed whacker sometimes and spatter that grossness everywhere. There’s generally some disgusting water collected it the tip as well.

    Looking forward to reading the Three of Swords!

    • Stinkhorn, huh? I’m gonna look that up. I’m a fiend on research. πŸ™‚

      Do let me know how you like ToS!

      • I’ll be sure to leave you a review.

        • Reviews are good. πŸ™‚ And no, I don’t expect five stars from you or anyone. Honesty is always best.

          • If a book is well written (by which I mean, do I just enjoy the prose on a basic level) and provides the expected amount of excitement, I’ll leave 5 stars. Maybe I’m lucky in that I don’t pick up books I dislike.

          • I was talking with AJ this morning about reviewers. I’ve sent Three of Swords to several.

            I write for entertainment. That’s it. So if the person reading is entertained, I’ve done my job. But some reviewers don’t seem to look at it that way, and those are the reviews that generally make me cringe. I never know what they’re looking for or what their criteria is.

            I can’t let myself worry about it, though. One hopes for a good review and tends to ignore the bad ones. ;/

          • As someone who does look at reviews, it’s pretty easy to tell who’s being ridiculous, and I read them for entertainment value. Good luck with you reviews! Have you ever thought about doing a blog tour?

          • I have, but I think I’ve already said I don’t know how they work. πŸ™‚ And I’m a little concerned with how much time it will take. Advice and suggestions are welcome!

          • Blog tours are a little different than blog hops. I’ve not done one, but I know for $35 Goddess Fish will set you up with one. Really, it’s just a new way to market. Blogs Hops are easy. There’s a post for one on my blog right now. Poke around at the different blogs and comments.

  3. Elin Gregory says:

    Stinkhorn – bleah. Once smelled never forgotten!

    I’ve got a copy of your book, Three of Swords. Once I have read it and had a chance to process it would you like to be interviewed about it? I do a series of author interviews called Today In the Comfy Chair [Monty Python reference]. They aren’t too scary because people come back to do it again. Have a look and if you fancy giving it a go, email me on elingregory at gmail dot com.

    • I love it when I learn something new. This is my first run-in with stinkhorn and I simply have to get it in one of my books soon! It’s too good to pass up. πŸ™‚

      Emailed you. Thanks!

  4. I looked up stinkhorn and found this wiki page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phallaceae It was named correctly. LOL

  5. Pingback: Theo woods | Selima

Leave a Reply

