The Tyranny of Money, or How Living Without it SUCKS

As y’all know, I work at home and don’t make much right now. Mostly, I’m okay with it. Money’s never been the most important thing in my life. Friends, experiences, nature… all of that is more important to me.

Money is always a means to an end. As long as I have enough, I’m content. Happy? Not quite, but content. I’ve lived on the financial edge most of my life. I’m sort of used to it (and what a terrible thing to need to adjust to in a country that’s supposed to be as great as ours!). 

I realize one bad fall, one broken bone, one car accident will destroy me. That’s a scary thing to live with, but I simply try not to think about it.

But there are times when not having money adversely affects the quality of my life. Today, I canceled a road trip I’d been planning for months. I was going to visit a couple of online friends. I’d really been looking forward to it. Doing that crushed me, but I couldn’t see any alternative. I just can’t afford it.

Remember when road trips were the American standard? Not anymore. Gas is too expensive. The time away from work costs too much. This is just so sad! I love driving trips, love seeing new places. It refreshes the soul in ways nothing else can.

Well… reality is sometimes a hard punch to the jaw. I just have to suck it up and go on.

Maybe next year…

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Tyranny of Money, or How Living Without it SUCKS

  1. W. Lotus says:

    That’s a club I wish neither of us was a part of. It’s frustrating when we run up against the limits of our finances…particularly when those limits are somewhat shallow to begin with.

    • When you realize you have only one life and it’s being frittered away in things like work rather than personal improvement and enjoyment, it becomes particularly nasty when you can’t even take a one-week vacation.

      I don’t mind working, but that should not be the entire focus of my life. I do resent not getting paid enough for what I do. ‘The working poor’ is become a phrase more and more of us are learning to live with, and not happily.

      • W. Lotus says:

        This is why so many of us are becoming creative about how to earn the money to do what we want to do with our lives. When I lost my engineering job I started getting to know people who are earning their livelihood with a combination of lower-paying jobs and creative endeavors. I am working on that for myself, even while keeping the possibility of a new career in computer security on the table.

        I am tempted to say the old ways don’t work anymore, but did they ever, if so many of us are leaving them behind (whether by choice of by circumstances)?

        • I think things have to change. They are changing already. I was fortunate that my interest in writing led me to a job I could do at home, even if the pay is unfortunately less than what I need. To that end, I’m trying to land a second job, albeit in the same area.

          Diversifying seems to be a good answer. Lots of people work assorted part time jobs through the week, spending a few hours here, a few there. I think this keeps one’s mind active and awake, unlike sitting at a desk in an office all day, which always puts me to sleep. The downside is there usually isn’t holiday or vacation pay, no unemployment if you lose that job, and certainly no health insurance.

          More and more employers are seeking to pay out less in benefits. Those CEOs have to keep their yachts gassed up, ya know. I predict we’re going to see more part time and less full time jobs.

Leave a Reply

