A Quiet Mind Cureth All

My house sitting stint is drawing to a close. All week, Suki and I have been in Wisconsin, where it’s quiet except for the sound of birds and distant hum of traffic out on the highway (there is probably no way to get away from that sound anymore these days).

I’ve been visiting the places I used as settings in Three of Swords, reminding myself why I liked them so much. I’ll be posting pics once I get back home; Photoshop runs on my desktop, not the laptop.

I’ve been alone much of this week. AJ’s been working or staying at his place in town. Mostly, I haven’t minded. I’ve been working hard and also writing the sequel to ToS, entitled Knight of Wands. I’m about a third of the way through it and hope to get it out before Thanksgiving (but don’t hold me to that! you know how the holidays can be). It’ll be released by the end of the year for sure. 

I’m sitting in a sun room right now. Three of the four walls are windows. I’m looking out on a giant fire pit and thick woods in all directions. Tomorrow, I return to St Paul for prop mgr duties and I’m not looking forward to it. I could get used to living like this. I literally can’t hear anything right now, it’s that quiet. Even the birds are sleeping.

In the morning, I open the sliding glass door and Suki walks out and lays in the sun on the deck. She’s gotten really spoiled with all this freedom. No leashes, no cars to worry about. She loves it.

I don’t even have to dress if I don’t want to. Who would see me? The nearest neighbor is twenty acres away. Modesty must return tomorrow when I go home. I’m going to miss feeling the sun on every part of me. ;/

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

