I didn’t attend the funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying I approved of it.

The quote is from Mark Twain. 🙂

I had the oddest dream this morning. What I remember of it was having an opportunity to go back in time to warn someone they were going to die in my time, and I told him, “You better have fun and enjoy yourself while you can!”

Told you it was odd. The dream does underscore life’s uncertainty. No one knows when they’re gonna croak, and as I’m not religious, I don’t think there’s anything beyond death. You’re born, you live, you die. Every living thing plays out this cycle. The only difference between us and animals is we know death is coming, yet we rarely acknowledge it and don’t live with our inevitable death in mind. Kind of the head in the sand approach.

Would you be doing that job if you knew you’d be dead in four months? How about four years? We waste so much of our lives! I’m as guilty as anyone. I keep telling myself “remember this moment” because if I don’t take note, it’s gone forever.

Apparently I woke up in a philosophical frame of mind, and I haven’t even had breakfast yet! Also, it was thundering when I got out of bed. I like a good storm, don’t you? I think I will take note of it by enjoying the sound of rain on the roof and watching the clouds fly past overhead while I eat my toast.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I didn’t attend the funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying I approved of it.

  1. Lindsaysf says:

    That photo is amazing. The clouds, yes. But that …er…priapic…structure!!!!

Leave a Reply

