This is How Change Happens

I don’t watch network or cable television. I had satellite for years and gave that up last year. The commercials bugged me. I couldn’t believe I was paying that much each month to watch commercials.

Breaking the TV habit was hard, though. I screened Queer as Folk, start to finish; that took me a few weeks. I have all of Heroes, Buffy, and the original La Femme Nikita with Peta Wilson. I have five seasons of Dexter and all of Northern Exposure. And more films than you can shake a stick at. (<–Where the hell did that phrase come from, anyway? Makes no sense at all. ;/ )

I’m a Netflix subscriber. I’m a prime member at Amazon. This means I have tons of stuff at my fingertips, day and night. Season three of White Collar was just released and in the third episode, it’s casually revealed that one of Caffrey’s female co-workers has a girlfriend.

The relationship was introduced without fanfare. A kiss was exchanged. Bomer/Caffrey suggested he and his girlfriend have dinner with them soon. Over that meal, the women kiss again. It was just like any other dinner with two couples who like each other.

This is how change happens.

You sneak it into the mainstream, a little here, a little there. The liberals embrace it. The others slowly get used to it. Eventually, it’s considered commonplace, and when that happens, it becomes acceptable.

What a shame it has to be done this way. I’ve never understood the problem some people have with any orientation that isn’t straight. Far more people are heterosexual, yes, but why does that automatically mean anyone not sharing that orientation is not granted the same rights and privileges as them?

Look at it another way: Most men will say their favorite color is blue. How about if we take away certain rights from men who choose red as their favorite color? And why don’t we start bashing guys who like green best?

Being in a minority group shouldn’t mean you have to give up rights enjoyed by those in the majority. How the hell did this ever happen?

That’s a rhetorical question. We all know the answer, and as pressure grows to grant equal rights to all people, no matter who they love, those very loud, often obnoxious assholes will be forced to shut up.

In the meantime, I hope characters with orientations other than straight show up on the tube more and more often. TV has the power to help change things. I hope they continue to use it in this positive way.

 

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

