What Happened to the Gorgeous Men?

We all love gazing at mostly naked gorgeous men, and I’ve accumulated quite a nice file of them I would love to continue sharing with you, but after reading a recent blog about someone getting sued for copyright infringement by posting pics she hadn’t gotten permission for from the owner, I’ve decided that feature will have to go away.

Like almost everyone online, I assumed if I found the photos online, I was good to go. As an author whose ebooks continue to be pirated, I should have known better! I apologize to every photographer whose photo I published that wasn’t mine. From now on, I will only be posting my photos here. I have enough of them. ;/

Today’s series is on the beautiful water lily. I stopped at a local park last week and they were in full bloom. All photos had curves adjusted and were run through various Topaz Adjust filters to bring out detail.

 

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What Happened to the Gorgeous Men?

  1. May I suggest some classic paintings? That’s where I find all my naked people, at least for my blog.

    You do have to be careful about that stuff though, which is why I generally attribute even public domain works.

    • Turns out attributing the work doesn’t count in a court of law. You must literally have permission from the owner before posting.

      While it upsets me I can no longer post my gorgeous men, it’s also a good thing that copyright laws are finally being pursued and protected online. I lose tons of money every day from people stealing and giving away my titles, and I’m sure I’d be just as pissed if someone was posting my photos around the internet without asking my permission first.

      So now, I look but don’t touch. :) It’s fairly ubiquitous online, sharing photos without permission, but I’ve decided to no longer be a part of it. Public domain is the only way to go anymore.

      • God I wish I was at the stage of writing where I was pissed off at pirates. I’d probably be pouring them rum for reading my smut ;)

        The way I tend to look at things like that–these aren’t your potential customers anyways, so why worry? Your potential customers are people like me (who follow your blog), established fans, people who check out reviews, etc. The pirates may even recommend you to non-pirate friends.

        It’s so ubiquitous too. There was a giant zip drive of books circulating my job among the soccer moms. They don’t see it as stealing either, or if they do, they view it a peccadillo. People are struggling, creative careers are viewed as a luxury, it’s not really surprising they can rationalize such behavior. If you’re having trouble putting food on the table, you probably feel like you deserve a break (and some free books).

      • I only started getting pirated with the last two. LOL

        The trouble is, I have problems with money, too, so someone passing my book around for free is doing me a disservice. It’s not like it costs all that much.

        Until the industry comes up with a DRM that works and doesn’t annoy legit purchasers of the material, piracy will continue to exist. And you’re right, there’s not much I can do about it. Mostly, I try not to think about it.

      • It’s probably your best bet. In regards to my coworkers, I suspect if their average idea of an author was someone more like me (and less like Dan Brown) they’d be less inclined to pirate works.

  2. Judie Stewart says:

    The pictures are beautiful!

  3. W. Lotus says:

    You know what this means, right? You need to start making photos of gorgeous men.

Leave a Reply

