Day for Night

There comes a time when every photographer wants to do day for night, Hollywood speak for filming during the day and turning it into night in the editing room.

Photoshop users can do it, too, and there are a lot of ways to accomplish this.

I took pictures of a broken down, abandoned house in Wisconsin, and always during the day, and  it always seemed like the perfect photo to play with for this experiment.

 

Nice, but not scary. So in my first experiment on this photo, I added a layer of black and dialed the opacity down to 75%. YMMV. And then I started adding stuff to it, layer by layer. See if you can spot the additions!

By adding a black layer instead of desaturizing the original, I kept the color of the original picture. I wanted that, because as you can see, I needed to mask it back under the windows where the light pours out.

You did see the lady ghost, right? :) What about the bat? Small kitty, too. :)

 

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day for Night

  1. Judie Stewart says:

    Love the pictures!

  2. jumeirajames says:

    I blew the pic up to take a good look at it. I saw the ghost and the kitten. Excellent, just excellent.

    I’d love to learn Photoshop but the learning curve is sooo steep and I’m, sooo busy. I get a lot of milage out of Picasa though (friends tell me its no good but I do a lot of changes with it). It’s not Photoshop but then what is.

    • I’ve been teaching myself PS for 12 years. Yup, steep learning curve, but the rewards are great. I love that program. It’s the only one I will never do without. To me, it’s worth what it costs, both in money and time. I just wish I had more time to play.

Leave a Reply

